AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! This forum is a GODSEND. I have spent the last 12 hours researching the PLETHORA of wisdom here. I am new to the PJ scene, I came across a couple REALLY great deals, and now own an ECP4100, another needing new tubes (burn and blur - fungus?), a 4000 w/burn on blue, a 2000 (with problems I'll save for another post), and whats left of a 3000 that I probably wouldn't have had to part out if I'd found this forum. I don't know much abut these things, I'm pretty handy w/electronics, but I'm not solder-friendly :D but I have managed to play musical chairs w/all the CRTs with no manual and no real problems. I knew enough to a decent mechanical focus, adjust the control bias module? (I learned the name today) pots for even gain/color balance, and adjust the electrical focus (somewhat - I obvisly need to do the astig/flare) I will soon be redoing all of it, after I learn more - I entend to do a G2, make sure my rasters are perfectly centered, etc. ESPECIALLY because I am near setting it up w/my HTPC as a scaler (right now I am using the evidently poor compsite/s-video decoder card). I am poor (like most were at my age - 22) so I don't have a screen yet, and I am aware of how adversely it affects my performance, but at least I'm not fighting my PJ to get it to focus on a set screen at the wrong distance) :rolleyes: There are many things I can do to improve my HT, but most require that magical thing called money. The rest requires the vast knowledge on this forum (and a little help) I will eventally get to the focus, fan mods, etc. but for now I need a smooth running PJ. My main current problem is this: The projector doesn't sync when I don't have a signal running to it. LOL no, really, my problem is: