Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,832 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm in the process of mounting my Electrohome 8501 (non LC) and can't get the blue tube to turn on. The PJ is currently on the floor (trying to determine mounting distance to the screen). I'm driving the unit with RGB into input 01 with a HTPC (1280x960 @ 60Hz resolution). The red and green tubes turn on and work, the blue does not. I have switched the blue and green input cables with the same results (wanted to make sure it wasn't a cable issue). When I go through setup (where individual tubes are turned on/off) the blue still doesn't light.

I am a total newbie to CRT PJs... I've taken the the two top panels off (lens adj. area and actual tubes / electronics). Each tube is encased in a metal cage and there is some sort of card between each tube (also in a metal cage). There is a plastic shield covering the front area of this compartment with a notch for the previously mentioned metal caged cards. The cages do NOT line up with the notches in the card (a bad thing?). On top of the green is a unit which kind of looks like a distributor cap from a car. I have no idea where to find board 'X' so if you have a suggestion please tell me where the board is located in reference to the parts I've listed. I tried to follow some previous advice like "pad the horizontal deflection board to prevent sagging" but realized I have no idea where that is or what it looks like! (insert image of me staring at PJ scratching my head).

Two more questions:

- How do I flip & invert the image for a ceiling mount (it's currently setup for floor operation)? I know I need to flip two plugs... where are they located (there are two over the green tube that look promising but I'll wait for an answer).

- Where can I get a service manual? I have the owners manual but it doesn't contain a lot of information (for example, how to turn a gun on or off).