AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

So as the subject indicates I am debating on taking the jump and purchasing the XPA-5. I must first say I am new at this this and it would be my first amplifier.

---------------

My system:

---------------

1.) Left/Right: Martin Logan Purities

2.) Center: Martin Logan Motif

3.) Surrounds: Martin Logan Helos 100

4.) Subwoofer: Martin Logan Decent i

5.) Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-07

---------------

My Questions:

---------------

1.) My receiver was pretty high end when I purchased it ... is there a difference to be had?

2.) My Left/Right Purities are powered and currently plugged in using speaker wire. Would being connected to an amp be necessary and make a worthy difference?

3.) Obviously, my subwoofer is also powered. Does this even get connected? Or is it just the left/right/center/surrounds?

4.) I intend to use AudioQuest "Sidewinder" RCA cable connections to go from the Receiver to the Amp. Are there better options out there?

Thanks,

Thomas Gray

·
Registered
22,119 Posts
^^^

first off, what are you hoping to accomplish?

second, your l/r have built in amplification. is there a reason why you aren't using them that way (i.e. hooked up to the pre-outs of the 07)?

third, the power difference between the 07 and the emo amp isn't as "big" as you might think. even running your system in it's "current" configuration, you are likely not making the 07 work much at all, and the "additional" 60 watts or so of the emo would really only buy you a bit more than 1db of "headroom" (which ain't much)...

fourth, no, the subwoofer would be connected to the pre-out on the avr, as it is now...

five, yes, the rca cables from monoprice would be fine...

the "big" strength of the sc series avr's is that they will deliver rated power...

·
Registered
2,088 Posts
EDIT all this was after ccotenj posted. And he's waaaaaaaay smarter than I.