AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,791 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

I just wanted to share something. I've been using the AVS Calibration Disk for many years as well as the 8700UB and the visual apex fixed screen.

I've moved in three different locations and have ran the calibration each time expecting different settings. I've kept all my equipment the same. I use the Theater Black Setting 2 on the Projector.

House 1) Master bedroom (14 x 13), walls were left white. Contrast -8, Brightness +3 using the calibration disk.

House 2) Bedroom (9.3' x 19), walls were painted dark flat colors. Contrast -8, Brightness +3 using the calibration disk.

House 3) Bedroom (9.6' x 16), walls were painted even darker (mouse ears on ceiling). Contrast -8, Brightness + 3 using the calibration disk.

Those settings are for a "used" lamp. A new lamp may vary just a hair. All rooms are 8' in height. 106" screen.

So far, I've learned that calibration doesn't seem to be that sensitive to walls, paints, etc. Does others find this to be true?

Even with Mouse ears on the ceiling (which is highly recommended for projection), you still get some glare on the ceiling. I get no glare on the walls. The Vapex screen has a gain of 1.1 I believe. Would I do better with a .8 or .9 gain screen? The room is 9' 8" wide, with only 3 theater seats wide, so viewing angle should be pretty small. I use the setup for gaming and movies. I do like the nice, big, vibrant image (it's gorgeous), but I'm wondering what more I can do to dial it in.

·
Registered
4,728 Posts