AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

May I ask you for suggestions on how to improve on washed-out blacks I am getting from my Epson 3200 (TW-7000 in EU)?

Please have a look at the attached images. My room has white walls and ceiling and there is a glass facade on left hand side. I can not change anything about this unfortunately, its not possible to paint the room with darker colors. 
Image size is 100 inch diagonal. I am currently projecting on a white wall but plan to get a screen.

1.)  Would grey screen help to improve the blacks? Any particular materials / parametres I should considers for this?

2.)   Any calibration tips that may help with the blacks? (I am using the out-of-box settings as I have zero experience with calibration)

3.)   Or - should I be considering returning this model and getting a different PJ, given my room conditions? My budget is £900-1400. I got this one for £850 which is a nice price I'd say, but not sure if the washed-out blacks is the reason...

Your feedback would be greatly appreciated, I like the colors and the resolution, but the blacks seem to be ruining the viewing experience as it somewhat prevents full immersion. Or maybe I am just driving myself nuts constantly judging the dark areas performance :) 

Thank you,
Daniel

Attachments

·
Registered
3,889 Posts
The 3200 has very poor native contrast so stepping up to the 3800 should help some. A gray screen is also a step in the right direction but you really need some thing with ALR properties with those light colored surfaces compounding the issue with them being so close too the screen. The formula for how much gain you need, required viewing angle, projector mount location and distance all need to be taken into account to avoid artifacts/hot spots. I am in the camp where projectors should be in treated rooms so I can't be of any farther help.

·
Registered
1,334 Posts
Hi All,