AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all-

My basement finishing and home theater construction is just getting underway. I'm looking to do a home theater, a wet bar, bathroom, and exercise/misc room. I have all of the before pics that i'll post soon.

I will admit I am cheating...I have a friend who does home theater construction full time and I am a novice DIY guy. He is doing the framing and electric, I will do the drywall and rest. Based on his time frame, he should have all of the framing and electric done within 3 weeks.

Hope to receive plenty of feedback/suggestions along the way as this is my first home project and home theater.

Daily updated pics will be taken and hoepfully posted soon after.

Eric

·
Registered
7,655 Posts
Congrats. Make sure you do all of your planning for isolation, HVAC, electrical, low voltage, etc. before the fist stud is put up. Also, think about door locations, seating position, etc. to minimize the impact properly setting up the space for both good viewing and good listening.

Bryan

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Any recommended resources (beyond searching this forum) for reading up/learning about those types of things? I have picked up a few books on basement remodeling and drywalling so far. As I said i'm a novice DIY but I want to start learning and doing a lot more.

·
Registered
7,655 Posts
The best thing you can do is to identify your goals and expectations. You can buid a basic room very easily with standard techniques if you're willing to live with sound transmission out of the theater and a higher ambient noise level inside the theater. If not, then there are a variety of things you can do to better the situation depending on how well you want it to perform, your budget, etc. But, almost all of them for isolation require special techniques during framing and some special materials.