AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have a chance to get an eye-one pro at a VERY low price but it is UV cut (second hand). Will this have a detremental effect on DLP front projector calibration. Would it still be better then say a new spyder 3 or an eye-one display 2? I am new to this and just want make sure I have the best tools I can afford as I know that I will use them on a regular basis. If you know anything that might help, please advise as the window for purchase is limited!!

Many ta's

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
thanks for the advice mate. I guess I will (its almost worth buying to sell on)...but there aint gonna be any i1pros in my price range anytime soon

next best? eye-one display 2?

·
Registered
18 Posts
This question has been asked a few times, if the UV cut filter on an I1 would affect readings when doing calibration..

Spectra-cal stated it would...

However I posed the question to X-rite and this is the response I recieved from them:

Product: i1Pro

Symptom: Does UV filter affect emissive readings?

Proposed Resolution: No, the UV-cut filter in the i1Pro is specifically designed to allow emissive measurements to pass through. You will get an accurate monitor calibration with or with out the filter.

At this point I do not know who to believe, the manufacturer of the product, or the people selling calibration software.. at the time when I was purchasing calman, I had access to an i1pro with the uv-cut filter.. I had asked spectracal if I could use the meter and was told no, and so I ended up purchasing an i1d2 from them along with the software... was I fed this line just to increase my purchase?

I have since ditched my i1d2 as it always read reds very high, and calibrated using an i1pro wih uv-cut (I have access to several of them, some brand new and some used) and always had good consistent results..

·
Registered
118 Posts

Quote: