AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, this is my first time picking out a component audio system and I could use some help figuring out if my setup is "balanced" or not.

So far I have the following items in mind:

Onkyo TX-NR 509

Fluance ES1

Polk Audio TSi CS10

Fluance AVBP2

Polk Audio PSW110

Is this a pretty good setup?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I haven't heard any of the Fluance speakers yet, but the reviews seem to be very positive and all of them state that they are great bang for the buck. Everything else sounds great!

What do you mean by match the front end?

·
The Village Idiot
9,580 Posts
Speakers all color the sound just a little - especially the tweeters. The Fluance tweeter isn't likely to match up with the Polk tweeter but it depends on how mis-matched they are as to how well they will work. When a scene in a movie pans across the front of you there may be a tonal shift - and there may not. Some speakers from different brands do match up well. I've had some that are very close and some that are way off.

I'd get the center that matches the Fluance speakers.

·
Registered
358 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by skl007 /forum/post/0

I haven't heard any of the Fluance speakers yet, but the reviews seem to be very positive and all of them state that they are great bang for the buck. Everything else sounds great!

What do you mean by match the front end?

If you are in the position to demo the speakers, I would highly suggest doing so. The "front end" typically consists of the Left Channel, Center Channel, and Right Channel. Although, with the introduction of height channels, I guess those could technically also be part of the front end. Heights are a complete waste of money though, in my opinion. Good luck with your future purchase.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knucklehead90 /forum/post/20928963