AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I first got into the idea of building my own HTPC earlier this year. I put together a list of parts and had it reviewed right here on these forums with the intention to buy the parts as soon as I got a job (I'm a recent grad). Well, 3 months and one career change later, I've updated my system and am looking for some last minute advice before I make the purchase. Here's the specs:
  • APEVIA Black SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-BK/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case - Retail
  • GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
  • SPARKLE SFPX94GT512U2 GeForce 9400 GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card - Retail
  • Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 ATSC/ClearQAM/NTSC TV Tuner PCI w/Remote 1178 PCI Interface - Retail
  • AMD Athlon II X2 250 Regor 3.0GHz Socket AM3 65W Dual-Core Processor Model ADX250OCGQBOX - Retail
  • G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-2GBNQ - Retail
  • Western Digital Caviar Green WD5000AADS 500GB SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive - OEM
  • Sony Optiarc 24X DVD/CD Rewritable Drive Black SATA Model AD-7240S-0B - OEM
  • BYTECC 6 ft. HDMI Male to DVI-D Male Single Link Cable Model HDMID-6 - Retail

and here's the newegg wishlist with links to each individual piece: Newegg Wishlist

Mostly what I want to be able to do is watch standard cable (OTA) and HD broadcasts in ClearQAM. Currently my TV has a ClearQAM tuner but I can't find the channels between the hundred digital channels it picks up but can't descramble without a digital cable box from cox. (Weird channels too like 128-10890). I figure I have a much better shot with a pc card to pick up HD channels in the clear.