AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I was planning to buy studio monitors for my PC based music setup and have almost decided on Behringer 1031A.

But then got a thought of trying to build on my own. I guess its not possible to beat the

1031As at that price with DIY, also given this is my first time. Also not sure above what price does

the DIY route becomes cost effective compared to commercial alternatives.

Though learning will be fun anyways.

Anyways let me mention the intent and based on all factors will decide whether to jump into this.

[ Or can always buy the 1031As and then try to build one like them
]

Goal :

2 way desktop nearfield monitor which will work good for 2-4ft listening distance, good enough vertical and horizontal dispersion

freq range - 60-20K Hz Can add subs later.

Need your feedback on following design considerations :

1) Enclosure : Sealed enclosure or open baffle ? as those might be relatively easier designs ?

2) Drivers : 2 drivers ( woofer tweeter ) or 1 coax ?

3) Driver Size : Is 8" an optimal choice, whether woofer or coax ?

4) Crossover : I have a minidsp, so can use it as 2 way stereo crossover

5) Amp : Need to look for 4 channel amp .

Also need to know how much to spend on drivers for the first project.

Not too high in case it doesn't work out but also sufficiently good drivers which can be further improved by changes in enclosure etc..

Is budget of 800$ realistic ? (still twice the price of pair of 1031As!!)

Thanks...

·
Registered
4,850 Posts
If I were building such a near field monitor, I'd examine the high quality Seas coax'es capabilities, and suitability.

But, the work has been done for you in the existing inexpensive high performance offering like the Behringer and others. Thats a highly competitive high value segment of the market.

·
Banned
3,677 Posts