AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
861 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the calibration arena and decided before I have my TVs (Sony KDL-46XBR3, Sony KDL-40S2010 and a Panasonic TC-32LX60) ISF calibrated I would experiment a little with a couple of calibration disks so I could learn more about what I would be having a professional do but not limited to by any means.

A little background about myself, I build my own computers and troubleshoot for friends and family. I am an Electrical Engineer for a large company and deal with electronics and instrumentation on a regular basis. I can read and clearly understand technical manuals and deal with technical issues almost daily. When I plan jobs or projects I have to write directions that make sense both to the average person as well as the technical geeks (please don't anyone take that the wrong way because the love of my life is an average person and I am a technical geek).

Which brings me to my first opinion of Digital Video Essentials. Why would anyone make a DVD so hard to find their way around. I don't need all of the narration and explanations and would prefer to be able to pop in a DVD go to the section I want for a test pattern and do a few basic calibrations. Don't get me wrong, DVE has some good information, good test patterns and I got it cheap from Overstock.com but C'mon! Not everybody wants to set through the whole DVD just to do some basic calibrations. I let my wife (i.e. average person) try to find her way around DVE and she gave up out of frustration. I was able to use DVE and find my way around but I can see now why I've read so many comments about DVE's menu structure. I also think it has a lot to do with the DVD player itself and how the remote is labeled with respect to the instructions in DVE. All together I probably spent two (2) hours doing what I think is a "basic calibration" (brightness, contrast, color, tint and sharpness) on a single TV.