AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, this is my first post here and im looking for some opinions on my first sub.

To start off this sub is going to be used for almost only music, probably only 10 percent games and 10 percent movies.

I have a room that is 10x10x10 so it does not need to be huge.

Like the title says its a 350 dollar budget, it can go up a little like 20 30 dollars but im looking to keep it under 350.

The size of the sub is not a huge issue, I would like for it not to be HUGE but big and ugly shouldnt be a problem.

So im very new to this and ive seen lots of people suggest the speaker itself and the amplifier but i havent really seen the plans or any suggestions on how to build it. Do most people just kinda try whatever? or do they have a nice build in mind.

Also im going to be pairing these with the audioengine a5+ if that helps any.

If possible please add links to any suggestions. Also tell me if this is an unrealistic project, I would rather save untill its more practicle that to just waste 350 for something im not going to enjoy.

Also will this outperform prebuilt subs like the stf-2 and others in its class.

Thanks in advance guys.

·
Registered
4,512 Posts
I recommend building a pair of subs instead of a single sub. Your room is small, and it sounds like output isn't your goal, just clean low end.

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&q=cache:vCfmDWdClRgJ:www.polkaudio.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid%3D12174%26d%3D1131452352+adire+shiva+ported+alignment&hl=en&gl=us&pid=bl&srcid=ADGEESjWfscHSO2NcI-0t03cObf5nX21QmsjoXZU2QtuWWHvhYNwUwaE5RcuqkIexYmlMqH_XA4ip97QfHYpQk6tqMw1RxRhyr1unEVRGCI9wIwicmgmRHO047IbLkG45byFvsj-aTM8&sig=AHIEtbS8sI6fmBGzVY7IL84B_a-pZ_daWg

Scroll down to the 85L "Adire Alignment" box plans starting on page 10, that is what you're going to build a pair of. Dont pay attention to the port length they state, just use this 3" port kit at its full length