AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am preparing to tackle my first sub project. I have been reading these forums and others for the last couple days and my head is starting to spin. I think it is time to ask for some help. I will start dumping all the information I think is relevant here, I am sure I will forget lots.

First off, I have a large room and a low budget. Budget is around $300.00 for the driver and amp. My living room is about 18'x18' BUT it is connected to my kitchen which adds another 18'x 28'. Ceiling slants up to about 12' in area where the tv is but is 9' in most places.

I am a pretty advanced woodworker, I have all the tools necessary so I am not too worried about the build.

I am not looking for perfection, just something to add to the movies we watch, listening habits are about 80/20 in favor of home theater. I have read that a sub should go down to 20 Hz, so that is the goal. I have no idea what my listening SPL is, hopefully someone can give me a hint on how to figure that out. I (read my wife) would rather just have the one sub, but if I get a good argument, maybe adding a second down the road is an option but don't count on it.

Given the low budget, I have been reading about some of the Dayton Audio subs, the Reference 15 seems to get good reviews, with either the Bash 300 or the Dayton Audio SA-240? Maybe a 12 is the best choice given the small amp?

I am drawn to the sealed enclosure just because it makes more sense to me, the ported enclosure seems like black magic but I can definitely be persuaded if that is the way to go. I am not too limited by size, the room is large and I plan on making it look nice so the wife should not complain too much. She even requested putting a table top on it and putting near the end of the couch. Not sure if that is a good idea.

So the questions:

1. Sealed or ported?

2. Suggested Sub/Amp combo around $300

3. Approximate box size