AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I'm looking for some speakers for my TV, probably 2.0 (with bass included) or a 2.1 system for movies, I've only ever used computer speakers before so I'm not too experienced with TV audio, whats the best connection, optic out?

Currently for my computer I have a 2.0 (bass inside) klipsch Pro Media Ultra speakers, and they are the best sounding speakers I have heard so far, too bad they are discontinued or I would pick up a pair for my TV or something if I could connect them.

Anyway, I'm hoping to get some good ones, atleast as good or better as my klipsch for a budget around 100-200$, more towards the 100$ lol

Oh, the audio quality of my TV is bad, so I heard you'd need to connect the tv into an AMP, then the AMP into the speakers to get good sound, all computer speakers have built in amps, do TV speakers have build in amps as well? I would like to get one with a build in amp, to avoid this problem as well lol

any suggestions?

·
Registered
1,276 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by itachi183 /forum/post/15569195

Oh, the audio quality of my TV is bad, so I heard you'd need to connect the tv into an AMP, then the AMP into the speakers to get good sound, all computer speakers have built in amps, do TV speakers have build in amps as well? I would like to get one with a build in amp, to avoid this problem as well lol

any suggestions?

You need to connect the speakers to an amplifier because your TV will not be able to power the speakers. Computer speakers are more often than not, considered as powered since they don't require additional amplification, they are most probably connected through some way to the subwoofer.

I think you are essentially looking for good 2.1 computer speakers since you want them with built-in amps?

·
Registered
3,575 Posts
Your only hope is to look into the used markets.