AVS Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a first time system builder interested in building a reasonably small form factor system (at least a micro ATX box if not smaller), which will serve both as my Plex Media server and HTPC. It is going to live right next to my TV in the living room and so it needs to look decent and also have a reasonably quiet operation (less fans and less noise from HDDs). I plan to get a config like this:

Intel i3-4130T (less power consumption and heat)
I don't think I need a heatsink for this underclocked processor, or do I need a heatsink and/or low profile fan?
2*4GB G.skill RAM
H87 or H97 motherboard
some decent seasonic PSU?
Not yet decided if I want to invest in a more expensive good looking case like the Fractal Design node 304 or stick to some of the cheaper Antex, Cooler Master type cases. Any recommendations?
64 or 128gb SSD for OS (anything cheap that I can find)
HDD - this is a point of confusion.

I want to get two 3TB drives and set them up for mirroring or daily backup. The active drive will host all my media for HTPC. I gather that WD drives are much better than Seagate ones with respect to failure rate. So, I am thinking of skipping the barracudas even though they are cheaper. Am I right?

If I decide to go with WD, should I get the green (5400 RPM), black (7200 RPM) or red (NAS optimized)? Will the higher RPM lead to more noise and heat, audible in the living room? Will the 5200 RPM drive be sufficient for my media needs, including transcoding? I understand that transcoding is just a CPU intensive process, but I am wondering if there is any visible impact on drive speed as well.

Please review my configuration and tell me if I am missing anything. TIA!

·
Registered
7,909 Posts