AVS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first attempt at building a HT sub. I was really interested in the ed A7S-450. I like sealed subs much better than ported. I have a lot of experience building subs for car audio. I actually won the USAC championship for the 151-300 watt class with two MTX 10" woofers (138 db)several years ago. Enough about that. I was thinking of building two sealed cubes for the ed 18" woofers. If I'm correct, I can essentially build two subs similar to the A7S-450 for the price of one prebuilt from ed. Heres my plan.

2 x ed 18" drivers = $400

1 x EP2500 = $250

1 x DSP1124p = $100

Building Materials = $150

TOTAL - $900

ed A7S-450 w/1300 watt amp and eq.2 = $935

This seems like the way to get the most bang for my buck. My plan is two build two identical 2' cubes and power them with the EP2500 running at 2 ohms stereo and eq'd with the BFD.

I am pretty set on sealed for several reasons. Easier design, smaller enclosure, and I like the sound better. I could build these cubes very quickly and have these up and running in no time.

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
5,828 Posts
What does their eq.2 amount to? The mono BASSIS works very nice for sealed, but definitely not the only option out there. It is nice though. http://www.marchandelec.com/wm8.html

·
Registered
602 Posts
First attempt? Ha! It will probably be your last.

You can't go wrong with what you listed. If, after you build your sealed units, you find they aren't up to par, toss 'em and go with EBS.

Best,

Mark

·
Registered
4,421 Posts