AVS Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i recently purchased a Pioneer VSX-520-K to replace the my Onkyo HT-R340, as I wanted something with HDMI switching. The Onkyo was part of a "home theater in a box" that used a non-powered sub. So now I need a powered sub...

I have a JL Audio 12W3 that I used to use in my car lying around, so I thought that maybe I should use that. Heres what I was thinking of using:

Elemental Designs LT.200
Elemental Designs Single 12" DIY Kit

I'm figuring this kit will be around the same price as be buying and cutting the materials myself.

With regards to my plan of using these three items to make a sub woofer, is there anything else I wound need? I'm brand new to this so please set me strait if I'm way off course. Also, I'm wondering if this sub would possibly be overkill, it seems that it would be way more powerful than the small Onkyo sub that came with the kit, but I guess I could always turn it down right?

With regards to the specific materials I have chossen; does anyone have any experience with Elemental Designs ?, or with using a JL car sub woofer for home theater use?

·
Registered
4,029 Posts
It will work but it isnt designed for HT use. Use the search feature and you will see a post within the past few days that got feed back on using some 10w7s I believe. Remember "search" is your friend.

But yes it will work. Spending very little for a sub that is designed for HT would out perform it.

Just look down nine or ten threads from yours :)

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiovideoholic
It will work but it isnt designed for HT use. Use the search feature and you will see a post within the past few days that got feed back on using some 10w7s I believe. Remember "search" is your friend.

But yes it will work. Spending very little for a sub that is designed for HT would out perform it.

Just look down nine or ten threads from yours :)