AVS Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to HT setups and have gotten my 5.0 system done thanks to the guys in the Speakers section here (Polk RTI's all around). Now I'm wanting to get the sub taken care of.

I have been reading a lot in this section over the last couple weeks and overall I've learned a little and been confused by more.

I have done car audio, was into it for many years, but that was nearly a decade ago, here was the last sub box I did:
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/727968/2004-chevrolet-cavalier/photo-gallery

What I'm wanting is 1 18" sub, ported. The image I attached is the maximum space I can use. I'm pretty much set on the inuke 3000dsp, unless I'm told I need more for my sub choice.

The subs I'm looking at are Dayton HO18, Dayton UM18 or SI18. I've seen a lot of the x vs x threads and it looks like the UM is looking to be the most promising assuming it has enough space.

I can't really seem to find any SI vs HO threads though, So I am unsure where the SI would sit. I really don't want to go over $300 on the sub. I can go a little higher on the amp, but I know if I go higher on the sub, I will have to on the amp too.

Anyway, here is the image I made in paint. Ideas for it are from the minimarty/marty designs, just a little shorter. Winisd and box tune calculator on my phone both show it should be around 18hz tune. I think it's 9.34 cu/ft before sub and bracing displacement. Port is 2"tall, 21" wide and I think it ends up at 36" long.

Any thoughts, ideas or help are greatly appreciated.

I know the UM is unavailable right now, I am very patient, so I can wait, I just want to get the planning part done.

Thank you,

Josh

·
Registered
1,380 Posts