AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
936 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a brand-new Revo 7.1 sound card but I'm having a lot of trouble with it. I installed the latest drivers (v5.10.00.35 for WDM) and everything seemed to install perfectly. But then I couldn't get any sound out of the SPDIF connector. I played around with the Revo audio control-panel and finally got sound when I switched the Quickset to "Digital" . But there were no longer any adjustments visible for the individual speakers so I changed back to the 5.1 Quickset; the SPDIF continued to work. So, then I started playing with different apps, e.g. Winamp 2.90, MS Media Player 6.4, and ZP. At some point, the SPDIF stopped working?! Again, I went into the Revo control-panel and played with the Quicksets until it started working again. I spent about an hour doing this: fix the SPDIF; "break" the SPDIF; repeat...

Is this a known problem with the card/drivers?

Is the SPDIF supposed to work all the time, i.e., regardless of which Quickset you select?

Is it possible there's a problem with my Dolby 5.1 decoder (a 2 year-old all-in-one JBL speaker/amp/decoder combo) and that I'd just never noticed it before? I have the digital coax from my HiPix and my progressive-scan DVD player connected to the JBL's one coax input via a generic unpowered video switchbox.

·
Registered
13,423 Posts
1) S/PDIF does not work full time. It is either analog output OR digital output.

2) For compressed DVD (DD/DTS) audio volume control is provided by your receiver/decoder.

3) For PCM digital audio volume control is provided by the player thru the Windows Volume Control.

·
Registered
936 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Maybe I wasn't clear:

I only want to use SPDIF but I can't seem to make it work consistently. When it "breaks", my JBL decoder continues to show a DD5.1 "signal" but no sound issues forth.