AVS Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I tried searching but I couldn't find a thread that really answered my questions. Plus, I'm a complete noob.

My room is 13x11 with 8 ft. ceiling. Would floorstanders or bookshelfs be overkill with sound and I should just go with satelllites?

Also I see that most setups are either floorstanding with bookshelfs for surrounds or complete bookshelfs or complete satellites. What about floorstanding for L and R but satellites for surround?

I'm looking at upgrading to the Onkyo 605 and I'm trying to decide on speakers to match. I have a Samsung HT-X50 right now and the speakers are horrible. Thanks!

·
Registered
5,453 Posts
satellites, by design, usually have very limited frequency response. For the surround channels that is OK, because they usually carry limited audio information. For your fronts, L-C-R, you need speakers with full range frequency response...with the low end helped out with a subwoofer.

Bookshelf vs. floorstanding is a personal option. If you are going to have to mount the bookshelf units on stands anyway, then consider floorstanding speakers. Floorstanding speakers give you the option for more actual drivers, but for a room with limited space, that may not be a great benefit unless you think a larger room may be in the future plans. The Onkyo 605 is a very capable a/v receiver....it would be a shame to hobble it with less than adequate speakers. I personally like the 1/3 - 2/3rds rule......1/3 of your budget on the receiver, 2/3rds on the speakers. It's the speakers you actually hear, so inadequate speakers can ruin the final experience, even with a good receiver.

·
Registered
4,121 Posts