AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been fighting my UTV now for several months and this is one last ditch effort before the unit goes the way of Tivo.

From what I can tell both tuners seem to work fine on a live signal but when you time delay or record a program the system starts freezing and pixeling (is that even a word?) the picture during playback.

Sometimes it works great and other times its totally unwatchable (screeen goes black for 2-3 seconds). Its seems to have more problems the more you jumped ahead through commercials or use the FFW and REW functions. It has gotten so bad my wife is ready to go back to the VCR.

I have the unit placed up on miniature jacks :D to keep air flow going under it and it is not near any other electronic gear. I also installed the powered multiswitch recently and it seems better but continues to have problems.

I am skeptical that its a heat issue since it never does it under live play conditions but at this point any help is greatly appreciated.

Alan

·
Registered
57 Posts
Dude

I had similar problems several months after upgrading to 120g HD. After nothing seemed to help, I went back to the 40g hd to eliminate that as a possible problem. We're on the second week now with none of the previous problems, so I can't help but think there's a connection. Can I say it was a HD problem? No, but maybe someone else has had a similar experience.

·
Registered
76 Posts
How full is your hard drive? I know problems like this can occur with a near full capacity hard drive.

Also, have you tried unplugging the unit for a few minutes? This can cure a lot of UTV's evils. And yet another trick is to hit the power button 3 times rapidly. When you do it right, the unit will reset and perform some disk maintenance.

It's a long shot, but give these a try.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·