AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been researching which sub to buy for the last two years and have a few in mind. I've been looking into the HSU vtf-15h and the pb-13 ultra. I like the looks of both and the numbers seem to be promising, theire just so darn big. I then cameaccross this funkywaves site just the other day, and though its not much smaller, the FW 18.0 looks to be a killer sub. has anyone heard this thing in a real world environment? The only way i would consider it is if it would best both other subs I had in mind as it is quite the pretty penny, almost $3,000 CAN
if I can't be reasured that this thing will blow the toupee of my neighbour's head, than I think I will pull the trigger on the HSU. Anythoughts on how these funky subs perform? specifically the 18.0.Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
753 Posts
I believe the 18.0 is using a new plate amp with about 2,500watts and has the TC Sound LMS Ultra 18" driver in a sealed box. I would choose this sub over the other two, but it's going to cost more. The advantages are small box, great mid-bass and deep extension. Perhaps around tuning, (15hz-30hz) the Hsu and SVS subs will have the edge since they are ported, above and below that, the 18.0 should have the edge. You have to remember that the LMS driver is 80-lbs and sold for at least $1,000 if you can find one and is perhaps the best driver out there.

·
Registered
7,387 Posts
I could be wrong, but I don't think the 18 will "blow" away the PB13 by any means in a small box. Looking at this ...

http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...cial-test.html

vs

http://www.hometheatershack.com/foru...5-hz-tune.html

In 15hz tune the PB13 has an advantage over the 75L (100L box, which I think is approx. the same as the 18.0?) from 15hz to about 35hz or so, then they are both approx. equal though the LMS has a slightly more flat curve. This is with a 3600 watt pro amp powering the LMS.