AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 104 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings,

I have been seriously considering buying either a G10 or XA10, but having some doubts regarding which one is the right one for me. I am a complete amateur and will be using this mostly indoors (90%) in my apartment, I might take it outside sometimes to the beach, but that's about it. The videos will be uploaded to my smugmug page or shared with family via DVDs (I want to retain the quality as high as possible). I would like to get something decent, the best I can buy (and use). Before coming here, I have read every single review and internet post regarding G10 and XA10 and the main difference between them. However most of them were written by professionals, I haven't seen anyone like myself trying to buy these cameras, which is why I came here myself.

The main reasons I am considering XA10 over G10 are the infrared light (which I will use on recording my baby daughter sleeping [very fun watching her move around the bed and snore in her sleep!]) and more importantly sound. I am basically wondering how good the sound is on default G10/XA10 without an external mic. Will having a shotgun mic really make a huge difference on a XA10? Will having a XLR input gives you anything other than the phantom power (what's phantom power anyways?)? I read that the default mic in G10 has directional ability and allows things like zooming which sound very advanced to me. I don't want to go overboard by getting a XA10.

I'll give you an analogy, if the difference between G10 sound and a XA10 sound with shotgun mic is like the difference between a Canon L lens and a non L lens, then I don't want to waste my money. But if the difference is like a prime lens vs a zoom lens, then so be it, I'll pay for the premium.

Please help me, this is driving me crazy!

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by gso125
Have you read this thread yet