AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings Everyone,

I am pretty new to this streaming thing so I was hoping someone could help me out.

First I would like to point out that I am using a Mac.

I have started ripping my DVD library with a program called RipIt. This program rips the full DVD. Each rip is between 7-8GB's.

I want to start transferring these rips to a NAS or External Hard Drive. Preferably something that can hold up to 4TB of movies.

Any idea what direction I should go in? External HDD or NAS?

I will then be using this drive to Boxee Box or Popbox.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,

CLE

·
Registered
2,080 Posts
I think NAS is too time consuming. I transferred a 7GB .mkv file last night and it took 6 hours. It's much quicker to hook up an external drive, transfer the files, and move it to your media player. NAS is fine if you don't mind setting up a transfer before going to bed.

·
Registered
11,145 Posts
Boxee Box is dead to me as it will not have ISO support for DVD or BD that I am aware of.

Ideally I would run XBMC but they also don't really have a good way to handle play back of full BD rips.

·
Registered
7 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966 /forum/post/18410353

I think NAS is too time consuming. I transferred a 7GB .mkv file last night and it took 6 hours. It's much quicker to hook up an external drive, transfer the files, and move it to your media player. NAS is fine if you don't mind setting up a transfer before going to bed.

You need to upgrade your backbone. I use Gigabit and Wireless-N on my network and I can move 7 GB .mkv files relatively quickly.

·
Registered
7 Posts