AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reading about various room treatments, etc. and have came across these, GIK Tri Traps . Would adding these in the corners behind my mains really make a worthy difference for paying over $200? And also what are some guidelines for placing acoustic planels and bass traps that are also offered by GIK? As you can tell I am new to room treatments and need some help! Thanks!

·
Registered
7,656 Posts
For generalities, yes - the Tri-Traps will provide a benefit to you moreso than anything else I can think of for an approximate $250 investment. How you place things and how many of what you should have depend on what the room is used for (2 channel, HT, mix, etc.), it's size, amount of furniture and people, etc.

Part of what we offer is to consult with prospective customers about their room needs, proper treament selection, and and placment. If you'd use our contact form on our site, we'll be happy to work with you to get a more specific solution.

Bryan

·
Registered
6,162 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb1130 /forum/post/0

Would adding these in the corners behind my mains really make a worthy difference for paying over $200?

Yes!

Room treatment, and especially bass traps, will do more to improve the sound you hear in your room than pretty much anything else you can buy. Even new loudspeakers, and I am serious.

--Ethan

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Generally(I know this probaly has a lot to do with my room), what would be more effective in increasing sound quality? The GIK Tri Traps in the corners or the GIK Monster bass traps? And I know this is most likely a stupid question but placing room treatmeants behind things(chairs, etc.) would defeat the purpose of having it there right? Thanks!

·
Registered
226 Posts
Don't mean to hijack, but can the GIK Tri Traps be painted or covered with fabric(to match the color of the walls and gain wife approval