AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
594 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this on the Girder forum but traffic is light and I was hoping to get an answer intime for the weekend....

Hi Guys, I'm relatively new to Girder and have slowly been getting familiar with it. I'm at the point now where I want to use the "close all pop ups" GML file that is available inorder to automate the startup of TheaterTek. I discovered lastnight that I had forgotten to install the DVDSpy plugin which would likely explain why it was unable to detect the inserted media. I then made the mistake of using an older level of the plugin which Girder discovered and told me to get a newer level. I now have the 1.56 level of the plugin. I'm a little confused as to exactly what I need out of the package to get the GML to run properly. I know I need the plugin put in the plugin folder, I need to put the DisplaySpyHook.dll in the Girder folder and that I need to update the registry with the DVDSpy.reg file but, is there anything else that I really must install? Specifically, I'm asking about the MediaSpy.dll file. I'm not sure how to do the "self-registration" portion byrunning regsvr32 MediaSpy.dll. What is the exact syntax for doing this? I'm using Win2k if that makes a difference.....

Stay tuned for more questions as I progress! Let's see, I only have to learn about Dscalar, DVD ripping and "My HTPC" software next....Who said Home theater wasn't educational?

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
Chris,

I'm away from my HTPC at the moment, but there are two ways to set up DVDSpy.

The easy one is to copy all the files you downloaded in the Girder directory and look for the included windows batch file... just double click on it, and it will put all the files where they belong, register the .dlls, etc.

The harder way is to look for the bundled .html file (it is in a subdirectory...) and follow the instructions

Good luck

·
Registered
594 Posts