AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help! This is my first attempt at HT stuff.

I have a pioneer amp and my brother in law have me his old RTi8 speakers. When I try to connect the speakers to the Pioneer, I found this, see pic
[img=http://img184.imageshack.us/img184/4107/avssb0.jpg]

Now, I don't know which one to connect the wire to!? I know the basics L and R connection for speakers on the Pioneer but this got me.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance,

-Brooks

·
Registered
15,247 Posts
Looks like those connections on the speaker are to allow you to do what's called biwiring or biamping (not really important for the moment) by removing the connection that serves as a bridge from the lower terminals to the upper. In other words, there ought to be two metal pieces that runs vertically connecting both terminals. If that's the case, it doesn't matter whether you use the upper or lower ones.

·
Registered
1,241 Posts
The gold straps that go between the two red and two black binding posts are bridge straps. These are there so that if you wanted to, you could remove them and run separate wires from your amp to the separate red/black pairs, or even use separate amps to power the high and low frequency drivers of the speaker. When using one set of wires/amps they need to be tight under the pair of posts not getting powered directly and also tight on the set with the wires.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for all the replies guys (all guys, right?)

So I should not remove the metal bridge and connect the wire to either set of terminals, because I only have one amp?!

Now I have to mope and find out what timbre matching is all about for the rest of the speakers, if I could find one.

Again, thanks for the informative answers, Chu and Barry.

-Brooks

·
Registered
15,247 Posts