AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Banned
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello im new to this forum
, I'm looking for a pair of bookshelf speakers around the price of $500, any suggestions? I know PSB image B6, Klipsch RB-61 II, and paradigm mini monitor are decent and fit within my budet.

Also, what else would I need to set up bookshelf speakers? speaker cables and a receiver? What type of receiver do i need? im quite new to this.. Thank you.

·
Registered
29,305 Posts
If you don't have a receiver yet we need to start over. What is your total budget for speakers and receiver?

And what is your main use for this system? 2 channel music home theater use.

1. How big is your room?

2. What's the planned use. Music? Movies? Games? Combo of these?

3. What's your total budget?

4. Do you want a subwoofer?

5. Do you plan to expand to 5.1 or 7.1 later?

6. What devices will you be connecting? Cable/Sat box? Gaming unit? Blu Ray? iPod?

Answer these questions and we can get a better idea of what you're trying to do.

·
Registered
3,444 Posts
Welcome to AVS. If budget is a consideration and since you're new to home theater and audio, I'll suggest the Energy RC-10s for $300. They're fantastic speakers and the $200 savings could be used elsewhere (subwoofer, additional speakers, speaker stands, etc.)

http://www.vanns.com/shop/servlet/it..._c=site_search

Look to Monoprice.com for all your cabling needs.

·
Banned
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thank you for your responses. My total budget is around 1000$, and since my room is relatively small, bookshelf speakers would be adequate. they would be primarily used for soft music therefore i dont intend to add in a subwoofer. Also i would like a 5.1 receiver for future-proof.

·
Registered
20,336 Posts

·
Registered
3,575 Posts
Kef iQ3 if you can find a used pair, or Kef iQ30 (accessories4less has a pair at $350 plus shipping, est at $80 to Vancouver)

·
Registered
27 Posts

Quote: