AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I am getting a new DVD player, a panasonic RP-62. But I don't have any surround sound system just yet. I was wondering what is the best sounding, or best whatever with a price range of $150-$250? I am plannning on getting it, but I have no idea what I should do, since I am very new to Home Theater Hardware. :) Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
674 Posts
I would raise my budget and get a Videologic Digitheatre DTS from www.icuii.com

This (originally $650) system blurred the line between "Home Theater in a Box" and "Multimedia 5.1" system, and has long been the best 5.1 multimedia system out there. At half price, this represents an incredible value when compared to equally priced "Real" home theater in a box systems!

·
Registered
2,355 Posts
Hmm are you joking? Surely you must have an idea what even a decent receiver costs these days. Hey I wanna sportbike that does 170 + mph

and low 10 sec quarter miles. What can I get for $500?...:rolleyes:

·
Registered
279 Posts
Read this review. It will make you very happy.

This a review from this board

http://forums14.consumerreview.com/c...08.5bG1aJyybj9 ^[email protected]

DD-EX and DTS-ES: The 811 detected DTS-Discrete flags quite easily and put the receiver in the right processing mode. I was astounded at the 811s processing capabilities in the ES mode. Right from the opening battle scene to the arena scenes, not once did the processor seemed to give up or gasp for breath. The 6.1 soundstage was very impressive and it made me feel I was right in the arena amidst the Tigers.

DD-EX was no exception and it handled the pod-race thinking it was a $1000 receiver. DD-EX and DTS-ES were the main reasons for me even taking a look at this receiver and it did not disappoint me one bit here. (8 out of 10 here)