AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My friend gave me 5 different motherboards that he bent CPU Socket pins on his attempts at building a computer. I was able to realign all the pins but would like to know a couple things first.


Recovered Motherboards:

1- Intel B77EB

2 - ASRock B75M-DGS

1 - Biostar H61-MGC

1 - Asus - P8 H61-M LX3 (broken VCCIO pin, not sure if it'll work or not)


The idea here is to get a CPU for these motherboards to test out and eventually keep one to replace the XBox in the bedroom and maybe one as a Home Server.


Now, the question....


I do NOT want to invest a lot of money on a chip that could fry in these repaired motherboards... (I trust they are all straight, just don't want to blow a lot of money on a piece of test equipment)


If the CPU makes it through the 5 boards and is still good, I'd like to use it for the XBox replacement media center.


Would I have to get a Pentium to have integrated video?


Is the Pentium good enough for a partial use media center?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,616 Posts

CPUs have pins, sockets have holes.  How does one bend the part that is on the mobo, namely a hole in a socket?  I could see misaligning a CPU into the socket and bending the pin on the CPU but not the other way around... help me understand your issue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,431 Posts
The latest motherboards even have a cover for the socket to protect the pins prior to CPU installation. The last Asus motherboard I installed even said that the cover should be kept and the board would be rejected if returned without the cover.


The real question is "how the hell does someone destroy five motherboards the same way"?!? After the first "accident" I'd assume the lesson had been learned, but then to screw up four more times? How about asking for help after the second attempt?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ya, I was quite surprised how anyone could mess up THAT many boards. I'm guessing it was from removing that sheild because that is where all the pins were mangled. Each board took me about 45 minutes.


The Intel board is my most coveted, and least damaged. One of the ASRock's will probably suffice for a media center. Probably sell the others on CL if they work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,431 Posts
If he is your friend did he not think to ask you for help? I would have stopped at least after my second. Then I would have paid Microcenter to do it for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
236 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick  /t/1468379/got-a-plan-need-a-cpu#post_23206202


Yes. G860 or a G2020 would be my personal choice. ~$60

I agree, I'm going to be getting the G2020 and putting that in my htpc that I built a while back and putting the G530 that is in my htpc and putting it in my flexraid setup. Good deal for the money.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,714 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB  /t/1468379/got-a-plan-need-a-cpu/0_50#post_23206018


Would I have to get a Pentium to have integrated video?
No, celeron has it as well
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB  /t/1468379/got-a-plan-need-a-cpu/0_50#post_23206018


Is the Pentium good enough for a partial use media center?
The g1610 will work perfectly fine in any of those motherboard if you're targeting OpenELEC. If you aren't planning to use OE then I'd suggest that as well, can't say enough good things about it.


Built an OE box for my relatives with a G1610 and MSI H61M-E33/W8 mobo for Christmas. Throw in 2GB of ram, a 8GB USB 3.0 flash drive for boot, turn DXVA2 off, and you're good to go. Plays anything, haven't heard a single complaint from them or even a support question
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,714 Posts
Yes to wtv file if from Comcast or FiOS and not a premium movie channel. No if from nearly all other providers


I haven't looked into dona on open elec, but if you follow the link in my signature you can view fullguideinfo and watch live tvTV, schedule recordings, etc. I'm not sure that it can run anything standalone. . . I use it as a secondary htpc with the npvr "server" running on my server/htpc
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
well... already got me interested in R-pi with OpenELEC..


Would do something else with that motherboard and chip (take a load off my 8 guest hyper-v domain network or start a NAS) IF R-pi works out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,714 Posts
From what I understand, RPI is only smooth if you're bit streaming. Supposedly chokes when decoding HD audio


IMO, all 6/7 series are overpowered for pure NAS compared to ARM, but better suited to the way I use OE (ample performance when on and spend majority of time asleep)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,714 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB  /t/1468379/got-a-plan-need-a-cpu/0_50#post_23209752


How do you control OpenELEC/XMBC? I only see Smartphone apps, I need iR. Don't want to fire up the smartphone every time I want to change a channel.

Since mine is secondary, I don't need a full remote with context menu and every other shortcut available. I currently use a HP WMC remote with it's included ehome ir receiver. I'm planning to use a pulse eight adapter soon, so I'll be quite excited if it allows the OEM TV remote to control up, down, left, right, and enter at least



Prior to obtaining that HP remote from my parents, I used a flirc USB->IR receiver with a SMK-Link Blu-link remote. This was a nice setup, but you have to program the flirc to your XBMC shortcuts on a windows box. Afterwards you unplug the receiver and the programming stays. It's plug/play on openelec, but not programmable yet.


Any WMC remote should function for arrows, numbers, guide, and "info" for menu. Also just plain "enter" or "ok" during playback brings up the OSG which can usually get everything you need.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,714 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB  /t/1468379/got-a-plan-need-a-cpu/0_100#post_23213403


Can I go fanless on that g1610?

That is definitely possible


It's a plenty capable cpu for openelec. I assume your interested in the lowest possible price, so note that it's $35 at Microcenter. For me that is an hour drive, but fortunately Fry's electronics also carries that model and they are five minutes away. Their shelf price is $50, but they price match down to $35 no questions asked


For $35 you'll get the stock heat sink, and if you just want to rip the fan off then you'd probably be fine if your case has some airflow


Some other thread had someone who had booted/ran a Core2duo with no heatsink, but in my experience with my own core2duo (Wolfdale e8400) I couldn't get past POST with a loose heatsink


The g1610 is low enough TDP to consider it, but all the aftermarket fanless heatsinks out there are going to drive the cost up. To reiterate, using the stock heatsink "fanless" (i.e. ripping the fan off) might work if you've go some other airflow passing through. Heck it might even "just work" no matter what, but I never even felt it was worth trying. I can say that the g1610 openelec box I built runs plenty quiet off to the side of their living room entertainment center (matches the look of the small sub on the other side as well
) I have to put my ear on the case to determine whether or not it's on. (I didn't wire the front leds since that stuff would drive their cat crazy)


My overall suggestion would just be to run it stock, and then start removing fans if you find it too loud
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
Top