AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, here's one of those again. I'm look to get a TV and here's the requirments I am looking for:

-16:9

-HDTV

-Big Screen....60" or above.

-Must be RPTV as the room I have just won't work for a FPTV.

-Plasma isn't much of an option considering the size of the screen I am

looking for. But, finding one under the 10K range would be worth looking

into, so long as it's 60" or more.

-I've looked into the Sony Grand Wega, but I see a lot of good and bad on

it which makes me think twice. I'd like the best of the best within these

restrictions.

Thank you much. Hopefully, I can get something soon as I have been shopping around on and on for the past 5 months.

~Jay

·
Registered
13,771 Posts
Price range please. We need a price range.

Mitsubishi makes good sets, but you need to defeat the Red Push to make them shine.

Pioneer's 64" ELITE RPTV is considered by many to be the absolute best ever made, even though it does not have 9 inch CRT's.

Toshiba's current models have a ghosting issue that is too nasty to ignore, IMHO.

Sony's current sets are great.

The Grand Wega = NO BURN IN! That's a huge plus. But black Levels are not all that hot. It would need to be ISF'd to look at its best (if I had the cash, I'd buy one).

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quote:
Originally posted by Matt_Stevens
Price range please. We need a price range.
Well, the Wega was 8 grand and that was pushing it just a little, but for something good I am willing to pay that and maybe just a bit more.

·
Registered
1,526 Posts
I spent neary 2 months trying to make the decision you are making now. My three finalists were Sony, Mitsubishi and Pioneer. I ended up with a 64-in Pioneer (Model No. SD-643HD5).

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Quote:
Originally posted by Fred M