AVS Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are there any cases like the ZALMAN HD160+ which has room for a 10.5 inches long card?

I would like to build a HTPC (replacing my current desktop) capable of both Blu-ray and games once RV870/GT300 are released.

·
Registered
4,981 Posts

·
Registered
1,663 Posts
I got a 4870 to fit in an Antec Fusion 430 (I think your 280 and a 4870 are the same length). Biggest issue was the power connectors - they were what hit the drive cage area. A little creative bending and problem solved
The Antec is steel so sissy aluminum should be able to be made to cooperate much easier.

-Trouble

·
Registered
174 Posts
I got a 260 in a CoolerMaster 590, fits great. They are the same size. Sorry for the big pics.

·
Registered
174 Posts
It would be if i laid it on it's side and put it on my rack, lol, j/k.

Seems to look like it would fit in the second posters link. The Zalman case doesn't seem big enough.

Also these cards need a lot of air going over them. I would really be looking at the temp on the CPU and GPU if you go this route. I know that i have 6 120 on my case and it is good but that's alot of air going over the components.

Again i would go with the one that the second poster linked to.

·
Registered
4,981 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by guezz /forum/post/15472234

Thanks, it's a bit pricey though.

Troubleshooter, your HD 4870 is only 9.5 inches.

Any other alternatives?

Unfortunelty to get what you want spec wise, nothing decent looking is going to be cheap.

Here is a Lian Li, but it isn't cheap either. Its basically a fancied up rack mount server type case,

http://www.lian-li.com.tw/v2/en/prod...26&ss_index=68

If you don't want some fancy looking case you can always use 4U or 5U server rack cases. Some 4U's are very cheap. But you get what you pay for.