AVS Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure if my trouble playing some 1080p mkv files stem from a hardware issue or codec issue.

Either way, though, I'm a Noob.

I'm trying to use a cheap Acer Aspire AM5641 (I bought it for my kids...but they tend to only use the dell XPS laptop in kitchen...so I took it back).

This unit has an intel duo core e2200 and 4 GB 800mhz ram, running on windows vista 64 bit with an nvida 7100 onboard vid card. Is this enough to play 1080P mkv files? processor loads tend to be about 80% usuage.

I currently have the latest Shark007 codec pack installed. (I've tried CCCP packs and K-lite)

Help!

·
Registered
1,211 Posts
First off to play a mkv file all you need to install was haali splitter and the h264 decoder of your choice. Installing the codec pack now means you have no idea where the problem is. You will have to use graphedit to see which codecs are actually being used.

That said:

The E2200 is barely enough to do software decoding of h264 video. With CoreAVC as your h264 software decoder it might be enough. 7100 video card is of no help it doesn't do hardware decoding of h264.

When you say trouble, is it stuttering?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, that helps clear things up. I may need to build a faster HTPC i guess.

I only installed the codec pack b/c I don't really understand enough about how all the codecs work togther to produce a video signal. For the unintiated...it's one shop shopping.

I guess I can give the kids back their acer...

That unit was always destined to be a boat anchor.

Regards

·
Registered
11,822 Posts
Odds are the IGP of the Acer cannot handle 1080p content, and as Jeff pointed out, cannot utilize DXVA, which is the reason for the high CPU usage. You can build a low power HTPC using the AMD 785G motherboard from Gigabyte, AMD Dual Core processor 245, add on a 4670 GPU to handle the DXVA and you will be set

·
Registered
110 Posts