AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 94 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
897 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I read through the press release and the general description of the 1100 on Logitech's website and I can't seem to find any difference between the two other than perhaps a higher resolution screen and a different color (which seem like negligible "upgrades"). What am I missing?


TIA.


--Mav
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
182 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverickster2 /forum/post/15472158


I read through the press release and the general description of the 1100 on Logitech's website and I can't seem to find any difference between the two other than perhaps a higher resolution screen and a different color (which seem like negligible "upgrades"). What am I missing?


TIA.


--Mav

On the logitech website they talk about "new software" including better paging. Unfortunately they dont detail what this really means, and their comparison page is very clueless.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
877 Posts
having been part of the beta testing for this remote and having used it for a few months now I can comment on some of the differences...

some of the differences are good news and bad news.


first the good...as you said, better screen, different color. it's subscreens are fully customizable on the left and right, allowing different buttons on each subscreen. so you could put the A B C buttons for your DVR down the left of the PVR control screen of the watch tv activity, but on the favorites subscreen on the left you can place completely different commands. it works with the wireless extender very well...in fact, unlike the 1000, it actually works very well with multiple extenders.


the bad....can't upgrade to the 1100. it requires setting up a new account from scratch. trust me, I wasn't happy about it either as we had to set up our accounts on the beta server, and then again on the live server once it moved out of the beta area. sequences are not currently on this remote. yes, activities (the basis of the harmony line) is here, but sequences are not. the technical reasons behind this have been asked to remain confidential at least for now


the so so...we had the slideshow removed. all it did was cause confusion, and people wanting to use the remote as a photo frame when in the base. the screen isn't built for that type of use and it would burn out way too quickly. like the other remotes, it doesn't work when in the charging base...again, the reasons behind this have been asked to remain confidential


IMO, it's a 'fixed' 1000 in most senses...which makes me wonder about the future of the 1000. anyone who knows me from the logitech forums knows I would never recommend the 1000. I can say that the 1100, as long as you don't need sequences, is a very solid remote.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
425 Posts
Wannabe Actuary, thanks for the information, that is very helpful. I know you signed a contract in participating in a BETA with Logitech and can't say much, but do you personally feel there is any hope for a RF version of the Harmony One?



Chris
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
877 Posts
my non disclosure agreement that has been signed so far is in reference to the 1100. while I do know some more information about some other remotes...I have to say that the beta testing of the 1100 took longer than expected and I don't expect to see any other remotes announced at CES from logitech....but I would highly suspect an RF One at SOME point...it's just that none of us know when.


also, I forgot to mention...the 1100 DOES have a clock. I never understood why someone wanted a clock on the remote, but this clock keeps pretty good time unlike the 800 series and the 1000 photos always showed a clock, but it never had one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
425 Posts
Good information, thank you. With Logitech laying off 1,000+ people recently, I'm sure things have been rocky at the company, that is never easy to deal with. Regardless, at least they came out with something, and with the bugs of the 1000 the 1100 appears to be a great improvement.


You confirmed what I just heard from Logitechs PR person -- there are no other planned announcements in the Harmony line for CES. Oh well...



Thanks again for the info.


Chris
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
I was considering holding out and buying this 1100 in Feb when it's available, but I'm not sure if I need sequences? Can you explain what that is? Kind of like macros??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,715 Posts
The 1000 is about a year old as is the Harmony Logitech One. This product makes me wonder if we're about to see a simillar successor to the One be announced shortly with simillar refinements/upgrades/RF supprt, etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,431 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Q of BanditZ /forum/post/15474861


The 1000 is about a year old as is the Harmony Logitech One. This product makes me wonder if we're about to see a simillar successor to the One be announced shortly with simillar refinements/upgrades/RF supprt, etc.

The 1000 was released in Jan. 2007, the One was released Feb. 2008. That means you'll hear about it at CES 2010.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,715 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj /forum/post/15474962


The 1000 was released in Jan. 2007, the One was released Feb. 2008. That means you'll hear about it at CES 2010.

Whoops, you're right. Sorry about that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
From the pic, it looks like the 1100 has added additional hard buttons for the side buttons next to the screen. That would be a nice touch. Other than the color, it appears to be the same.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
877 Posts
no additional buttons next to the screen...just some bumps to help navigate the side screen buttons by feel.


Oh, and how could I forget, they swapped the volume and channel hard keys to be the same as every other remote...volume on the left, channel on the right
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,207 Posts
After playing with a 1000 recently I would not mind trying the 1100. I like the color better and if it doesn't freeze up very often they may have a winner. I do wish they would have added a couple of extra hard buttons. With the 1000 I was using the Left and Right arrow hard buttons as Menu and Info for my Directv DVRs and also using them as Pop Up Menus and Exits for my Blu ray players. It just made things a lot easier.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,207 Posts
Another question... With the 1000 for activities if you have a "generic" one it has the same picture for each. I always wanted to use a Device pic for the "generic" activities. Is this different with the 1100? Would I be able to use Device pics for some activities? That would be great since sometimes at first glance all 3 of my "generic" activities all look alike...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,058 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wannabe Actuary /forum/post/15474538


IMO, it's a 'fixed' 1000 in most senses...which makes me wonder about the future of the 1000. anyone who knows me from the logitech forums knows I would never recommend the 1000. I can say that the 1100, as long as you don't need sequences, is a very solid remote.

a fixed 1000 should come as a firmware upgrade not a new product.


Any idea if they will let 1000 owners trade the clearly "broken" product in for this? Perhaps some trade in value at least?


I wouldn't only not recommend the 1000, but as a result of the response to the issues with this product from logitech I wouldnt recommend Logic. Essentially there are more problems with logitech's response or lack of to the 1000's then the actual product itself.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,439 Posts
My biggest peev is the trouble with updating it. Half the time it doesn't connect to the computer or looses connection If they orrect that with the 1100 it'll be a winner


If they offer a credit for turning in your 1000 for an 1100, I'm all over it and would get the 1100 in a heart beat.
 
1 - 20 of 94 Posts
Top