AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pasting below my discussion with someone who was helpful, but who suggested that I might post my situation here.



Long story short ... I have a Harmony 890 remote made by Logitech. It controls my Directv HD receiver/DVR, Sony Blu Ray player, Sony CD player, Yamaha home theater receiver, and Sony Bravia TV. The Harmony remote is fantastic in every way except one ... I cannot get it to allow me to produce a SLOW MOTION command like I can produce on my Directv RC64R remote (i.e. by pressing and holding the play button). The Harmony will do it only by pressing and holding, then releasing, and then pressing and releasing. This might be OK except that it only does it about 1 time out of ever 5 tries!


The last email from the Logitech Harmony tech people said that I needed to "contact the manufacturer of the device and request the Hex-codes. Once you have the Hex-codes, please contact us back with the codes and we will add them to your account."


I called Directv and the only codes they could give me appear to be the codes that are used for telling the Directv remote what model TV you have so it can control the TV. In other words, the following codes ( 10810 11317 11685 10011 10834 10111 10353 10080 11904 11100 10010 11925 10505 10273 11962 11641) are possible codes to control the Sony TV. I think that 10810 is the one to control my Sony Bravia TV, but are these the codes (i.e. Hex codes?) that the Harmony folks are asking for or is it something else entirely? I suspect something else entirely. If so, where can I get the Hex codes?


This forum was suggested by someone on the Directv forums. Can you help?

Reply

Quote

Edit

Post 2 made on Wednesday August 17, 2011 at 01:45

3FG

Advanced Member

Joined:

Posts: August 2009

850

View Profile

Send RC Mail

Here's the Pronto Hex that Logitech is looking for.

Slow Play--Device Code: 12 Function: 58


0000 006C 000A 000A 00E7 002E 002E 002E 0017 0017 0017 0017 002E 002E 002E 0017 002E 0017 0017 002E 002E 002E 0017 0481 0073 002E 002E 002E 0017 0017 0017 0017 002E 002E 002E 0017 002E 0017 0017 002E 002E 002E 0017 0481


This assumes that your receiver is set to the default receiver address 1.

Reply

Quote

!

Post 3 made on Wednesday August 17, 2011 at 02:12

rgilliam

New Member

Joined:

Posts: August 2011

5

View Profile

Send RC Mail

Wow! Thanks for the help. Now, let me try to understand this. Will this (if Logitech somehow gets it into the Harmony 890's brain) allow the Harmony to produce slow motion if you press and hold the play button?


Rob


On August 17, 2011 at 01:45, 3FG said...

Here's the Pronto Hex that Logitech is looking for.

Slow Play--Device Code: 12 Function: 58


0000 006C 000A 000A 00E7 002E 002E 002E 0017 0017 0017 0017 002E 002E 002E 0017 002E 0017 0017 002E 002E 002E 0017 0481 0073 002E 002E 002E 0017 0017 0017 0017 002E 002E 002E 0017 002E 0017 0017 002E 002E 002E 0017 0481


This assumes that your receiver is set to the default receiver address 1.

Reply

Quote

Edit

Post 4 made on Wednesday August 17, 2011 at 03:02

3FG

Advanced Member

Joined:

Posts: August 2009

850

View Profile

Send RC Mail

I don't own any DirecTV equipment, but according to the file I took this from (at hifi-remote.com) a long press of the play button on the original remote sends this code. And the result is slow motion. A short press sends device 12, function 48, and that causes normal play.


Logitech can add it to your remote. Once it is in the remote, I expect that the PVR will begin slow play as soon as you press the button. I don't know if you will need to hold the button--I wouldn't expect that you need to.

Reply

Quote

!

Post 5 made on Wednesday August 17, 2011 at 11:16

rgilliam

New Member

Joined:

Posts: August 2011

5

View Profile

Send RC Mail

Just to give you an update here's what this does:


Although the Directv remote need only be pressed and held for slow motion to start the Harmony needs a little bit more. If you just press and hold the play button it does nothing except keep playing normally. However, if I press and hold the play button for approximately 2 to 3 seconds, release it and then press the play button again it does then start slow motion.


It is a little bit more hassle since you have to make sure you hold it down long enough (or it won't work) and, of course, it takes longer. So if you want it to start at, say, a particular point in a football play you have to back it up a little bit farther if you are trying to analyze a play or if you are trying to just start slow motion from where you are in a live show the slow motion won't start until about 2 or 3 seconds as opposed to about 1 or 2 seconds if using the Directv remote.


However, it does work pretty consistently now. Before it would only work sporadically.


Thanks for the help!

Reply

Quote

Edit

Post 6 made on Wednesday August 17, 2011 at 11:38

3FG

Advanced Member

Joined:

Posts: August 2009

850

View Profile

Send RC Mail

Is your description the behavior of the Harmony works after adding the Pronto Hex, or before? I think the Pronto Hex should be assigned to a button other than Play. Slow Play is a different IR signal than Play.

Reply

Quote

!

Post 7 made on Wednesday August 17, 2011 at 16:34

rgilliam

New Member

Joined:

Posts: August 2011

5

View Profile

Send RC Mail

It is the description AFTER adding the codes. I don't know how to change it to another button so it is set for the play button just like it is on the Directv remote.


Rob


On August 17, 2011 at 11:38, 3FG said...

Is your description the behavior of the Harmony works after adding the Pronto Hex, or before? I think the Pronto Hex should be assigned to a button other than Play. Slow Play is a different IR signal than Play.

Reply

Quote

Edit

Post 8 made on Wednesday August 17, 2011 at 17:51

3FG

Advanced Member

Joined:

Posts: August 2009

850

View Profile

Send RC Mail

I don't know anything about Harmony remotes, but I am at a loss to understand what "set for the play button" means. Have you replaced the assignment of the normal Play signal with Slow Play? Assigned both codes to the Play button? Does the Harmony recognize long presses and send different signals for short and long presses?


In any case, this is the Discrete Code Hunter section of the forum, and the questino of which code to use has ben answered. Now it would probably be better to post in the Harmony section, where there may be folks who know about Harmony remotes.

Reply

Quote

!

Post 9 made on Wednesday August 17, 2011 at 20:09

rgilliam

New Member

Joined:

Posts: August 2011

5

View Profile

Send RC Mail

I suppose that I should have said that it is "assigned" to the play button. Yes, I have assigned both the play and slow play commands to the same button (i.e. the play button). This is exactly how it is done on the Directv remote so although I have no idea about any of this stuff just know that it is possible since it functions that way on the Directv remote.


I'll try not to bother you here again. I simply was wanting to give you an update on what the results had been.


Rob


On August 17, 2011 at 17:51, 3FG said...

I don't know anything about Harmony remotes, but I am at a loss to understand what "set for the play button" means. Have you replaced the assignment of the normal Play signal with Slow Play? Assigned both codes to the Play button? Does the Harmony recognize long presses and send different signals for short and long presses?


In any case, this is the Discrete Code Hunter section of the forum, and the questino of which code to use has ben answered. Now it would probably be better to post in the Harmony section, where there may be folks who know about Harmony remotes.

Reply

Quote

Edit

Post 10 made on Wednesday August 17, 2011 at 23:32

3FG

Advanced Member

Joined:

Posts: August 2009

850

View Profile

Send RC Mail

It's not a bother at all. And if you're happy, that's great. But I suspect that you can get the Harmony to send a signal which will cause your DirecTV to immediately enter slow play mode, probably by assigning the slow play function to some other button, and using that button to switch to slow play mode.


You have a better chance of finding out how to do it in the Harmony forum, or over at AVS Forum. Actually AVS Forum is where most of the Harmony enthusiasts hang out.

END of paste of posts on another forum.


Should I have done something different in order to get the play button on the Harmony to perform as the play button on the Directv remote? If that is impossible how do I get the Harmony people to assign this action (slow motion) to a different button on the Harmony 890? I would prefer that I be able to simply press and hold the play button in order to produce slow motion.


Sorry to be so long winded, but I wanted you to know what has gone on up to now.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,459 Posts
I admit I didn't make it much beyond the title of your post, but HERE's the solution. If you need further help, perhaps you can copy it from another user's profile. I know David Ortiz at DBS Talk helped me figure this out and test it a few years ago and it was working fine for him and for me. I'd offer my own account, but I no longer have a harmony remote or DirecTV service.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
527 Posts
mdavej,

Here's the original thread .


One way that Rob.Gilliam wants (I think) to use slow play is during a sporting event. So he wants to be able to back up a few seconds, play at normal speed until the crucial moment arrives, and then engage slow play. I gave him the Pronto Hex for slow play, and at present he has both ordinary play and slow play programmed onto the same button. I suggested that he may be able to get a faster switch into slow play mode by assigning the slow play code onto a separate button.


I don't know how to do that, and so I suggested he inquire here. I suspect that the solution you have linked to still expects the user to employ a long press of play to enter slow play mode.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,459 Posts
AFAIK, there is no short press instant slow play command in existence for DirecTV. Assigning play and slow to different buttons won't do any good because slow won't kick in until the receiver sees about a second's worth of repeats. A short press of slow behaves exactly like play. If Rob G wants instant slow, it's impossible. It's also impossible to assign more than one command to the same button on harmony. So Rob only thinks has has both. If a short press does play and a long press does slow, then he has slow assigned to the button.


Rob, if you want to give it a try anyway, go to Customize Buttons in your activity and you can assign any command to any button using the drop down lists.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You are correct, I do want to use it like you suggest. I want(ed) to be able to just press and hold the play button and have it (after a couple of seconds of holding) produce slow motion.


And, yes, that's what I was hoping to find out here.


Rob

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3FingeredGlove /forum/post/20847311


mdavej,


One way that Rob.Gilliam wants (I think) to use slow play is during a sporting event. So he wants to be able to back up a few seconds, play at normal speed until the crucial moment arrives, and then engage slow play. I gave him the Pronto Hex for slow play, and at present he has both ordinary play and slow play programmed onto the same button. I suggested that he may be able to get a faster switch into slow play mode by assigning the slow play code onto a separate button.


I don't know how to do that, and so I suggested he inquire here. I suspect that the solution you have linked to still expects the user to employ a long press of play to enter slow play mode.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I can live without "instant slow" since the slow motion that I'm trying to duplicate from Directv's remote is not "instant slow" either; it requires that you hold down the play button for about 2 seconds or so itself. That's really all I was hopeful of duplicating.


Also, I have no idea how to put this stuff in my Harmony myself. The pronto Hex code stuff that I got on the other thread I forwarded to Harmony and they said they'd put it in for me if I'd just go in and update my remote.


BTW, I went into the site you suggested and clicked on manual and put in the pronto Hex stuff you gave me and it converted it and produced this:


F95EDP1783S04AFP04AFS04AFP0257S0257P0257S0257P04AFS04AFP04AF S0257P04AFS0257P0257S04AFP04AFS04AFP0257S7559P0BB4S04AFP04AF S04AFP0257S0257P0257S0257P04AFS04AFP04AFS0257P04AFS0257P0257 S04AFP04AFS04AFP0257S7559P0BB4S04AFP04AFS04AFP0257S0257P0257 S0257P04AFS04AFP04AFS0257P04AFS0257P0257S04AFP04AFS04AFP0257 S7559P0BB4S04AF


I don't know what to do with it of course, but maybe that means something to someone?


I really hate that you guys who know so much about this are having to try to explain brain surgery to a Neanderthal, but that's what you're doing here!



Rob

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej /forum/post/20847721


AFAIK, there is no short press instant slow play command in existence for DirecTV. Assigning play and slow to different buttons won't do any good because slow won't kick in until the receiver sees about a second's worth of repeats. A short press of slow behaves exactly like play. If Rob G wants instant slow, it's impossible. It's also impossible to assign more than one command to the same button on harmony. So Rob only thinks has has both. If a short press does play and a long press does slow, then he has slow assigned to the button.


Rob, if you want to give it a try anyway, go to Customize Buttons in your activity and you can assign any command to any button using the drop down lists.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,459 Posts
That's fine. You're on the right track. Ignore those codes. No one but harmony knows what they mean. After you see those codes, just click Next, name it, then click Add like my post says. Then you can assign it to the play button in your activity under customize buttons.


This is a difficult, hard to understand process because it was never meant for an end user to do. We just got lucky and found the hidden web page support uses to add pronto hex codes. Whenever I add codes to harmony, I do it the easy way by learning from another remote like the RCA RCRP05B. It's very cheap, and programming codes like slow play is very simple compared to finding and adding your own pronto hex codes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
527 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej /forum/post/20847721


AFAIK, there is no short press instant slow play command in existence for DirecTV. Assigning play and slow to different buttons won't do any good because slow won't kick in until the receiver sees about a second's worth of repeats..

It seems to me that if slow is assigned to Play, then the sequence to get slow play is 1) press play, 2) hold until the remote decides this is a long press, and 3) hold it until the receiver sees the second's worth of repeats.


If it is assigned to a separate button, the receive will respond faster because step 2) is eliminated.


In any case, I'm surprised that the the DirecTV receiver needs to wait for any repeats before switching from Play to Slow mode once the slow IR signal is received.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I haven't understood what this "second's worth of repeats" was all about at all. What are "repeats" in this sense? Does it mean that the play signal is being sent repeatedly for a second or so?


Rob

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3FingeredGlove /forum/post/20849338


It seems to me that if slow is assigned to Play, then the sequence to get slow play is 1) press play, 2) hold until the remote decides this is a long press, and 3) hold it until the receiver sees the second's worth of repeats.


If it is assigned to a separate button, the receive will respond faster because step 2) is eliminated.


In any case, I'm surprised that the the DirecTV receiver needs to wait for any repeats before switching from Play to Slow mode once the slow IR signal is received.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,459 Posts
You don't need play at all. Short press of slow = play, long press of slow = slow. There is no way to speed it up because the DVR won't go into slow motion until the end of the time delay. I'll defer to Rob's 2 seconds versus my 1 second since I honestly don't remember the exact time. All 5 DirecTV long press commands work this way.


Rob, like when you hold down a volume button, the signal repeats when held. The DVR counts them and decides what to do. The DirecTV remote has just a play button, so the delay is there to prevent accidental slow commands. Since the delay is in the DVR, there is no way to speed it up. No matter what commands you put on different buttons, you still have to wait 2 seconds for slow.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Thanks for the explanation.


FYI, what I have now is that I can make the Harmony produce slow motion, but it takes 2 different presses of the Play button right now. The first press of Play must be held for about 2 seconds or maybe slightly more. It then must be released and then it has to be pressed again. Doing those 2 presses it produces slow motion.


I still can't get it to do it like the one long press of Play does on the Directv remote.


Thanks again for the explanation.


Rob

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej /forum/post/20849657


You don't need play at all. Short press of slow = play, long press of slow = slow. There is no way to speed it up because the DVR won't go into slow motion until the end of the time delay. I'll defer to Rob's 2 seconds versus my 1 second since I honestly don't remember the exact time. All 5 DirecTV long press commands work this way.


Rob, like when you hold down a volume button, the signal repeats when held. The DVR counts them and decides what to do. The DirecTV remote has just a play button, so the delay is there to prevent accidental slow commands. Since the delay is in the DVR, there is no way to speed it up. No matter what commands you put on different buttons, you still have to wait 2 seconds for slow.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,459 Posts
Harmony adds yet another layer of repeat behavior that it sounds like you need to adjust. Follow the Troubleshooting wizard and change the repeats value. I think I had mine set to 2. If that doesn't work, keep trying different values until you get the desired behavior.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top