AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all.

I'm pretty new to calibrating TVs. Never thought of doing it until these forums.

Anyway I ended up purchasing an eyeone and downloaded hcfr to play with my tv.

when working on the greyscale i can't seem to flatten out the gamma curve without lowering the contrast significantly.

i've seen people post chc files with gamma going 2.2 straight across and contrast near 100 on this set.

if i have contrast at 100 my gamma slopes from 2.5 at low ires to 1.9 at high ires.

i've only been doing this 2 days so i'm assuming i'm missing something? is there a trick that i don't know about?

·
Registered
6,723 Posts
Greetings

When doing grayscale ... work on the gain controls first ... then the offsets. Not the other way around.

I worked on a 850 last night. Just fine. Dark end started to go green so we had to compromise the 30 range.

regards

·
Registered
7,056 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ooa4oo /forum/post/15426849

Hi all.

I'm pretty new to calibrating TVs. Never thought of doing it until these forums.

when working on the greyscale i can't seem to flatten out the gamma curve without lowering the contrast significantly.

i've seen people post chc files with gamma going 2.2 straight across and contrast near 100 on this set.

if i have contrast at 100 my gamma slopes from 2.5 at low ires to 1.9 at high ires.

i've only been doing this 2 days so i'm assuming i'm missing something? is there a trick that i don't know about?

I have a very similiar problem with my toshiba set, I don't have any good answers, but lowering the gains seems to help for my set, then you can turn contrast back up a bit. While they both seem to interact with the gamma curve they do it in slightly different ways. My set will start at 2.2 and noise dive to lie 1.6 at high IREs

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael TLV /forum/post/15426974

Greetings