AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted a question a few days ago and asked if you would purchase from a Sony Outlet store. Now my question is....have you or would you purchase a refurbished TV from Sony Style (along with their 5 year warranty)? I would be purchasing it at the outlet store itself and not online.

I am a newbie and honestly, the LCDs all look pretty good to me since I currently own a Panasonic oldstyle 36" TV.

Thanks for your help and suggestions!

·
Registered
2,615 Posts
It all depends on how much you will be saving. Refurbs always carry some extra risk as they have failed in some way already. So if you are OK with that, and you are saving enough money, maybe. Check some other online stores, like Amazon, for a new one, and you may find you are not saving enuf to take the chance.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I have purchesed a refurbed computer, 3 monitors, stereo equipment from sony and none of them have failed. For the most part, sony's refurb products were for cosmetic reasons. If thee was a technical issue, the part would be replaced and the product marked as refurbed. Hope this helps

·
Registered
7,233 Posts
If so, do it with return rights - suppose you getting recycled panels with clouding. The good news they are giving a 5 yr warranty whereas it's not uncommon to get a stinky 90 day or

I got burned on a x360 console that was advertised as refurb and the friggin thing failed 5 weeks later with three red rings of death and turns out the damn thing had a previous owner and was a >year old before I bought it when I had to use the warranty to repair and wait 5 weeks for the repair. Thank goodness Microsoft etd the waranty before it happened.

The way Sonystyle is pkging the deal it seems pretty fair if it's worth the savings and the reason for refurb has actually been resolved.

·
Registered
2,594 Posts