AVS Forum banner

521 - 540 of 13608 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by kha0tic /forum/post/21950013


It's best to run i1d3ccss on the command line. Read the Argyll manpage for the i1d3ccss program to understand what it does.


When i1Profiler is installed, the X-Rite .EDR files are located in ":\\Program Files\\X-Rite\\Devices\\i1d3\\Calibrations". i1d3ccss will convert the EDR files and install the converted ccss files into one of the following two directories, either \\ProgramData\\color or somewhere in \\Users\\\\AppData, the former if you specify the -S l flag and the latter if the -S u flag or omit the option.

Thank you! I will try again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,530 Posts
Profiling the i1Pro with HCFR 2.1 and then moving that chc file into HCFR 3.0.4.0 and converting with the i1D3 chc does not work ( *GOT IT WORKING ), I get totally off the wall results with the matrix calibration file (thc).


If I try to reverse the order and send the i1D3 chc over to HCFR 2.1, in order to do the matrix conversion, 2.1 says invalid file format from the chc that came from HCFR 3.0.4.0.


So 3.0.4.0 will take the 2.1 chc file from the i1pro and allow the matrix conversion but that conversion matrix is wrong, must be a bug there somewhere (?).


Jason
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,687 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp /forum/post/21952628


So 3.0.4.0 will take the 2.1 chc file from the i1pro and allow the matrix conversion but that conversion matrix is wrong, must be a bug there somewhere (?).

Very probably, I must say I haven't tried to do that yet, at the weekend I'll have a go at profiling an old i1d2 with a colormunki and see how I get on.


With the file formats in general you can only go from lower versions to later versions. THe new argyll features meant a version bump in the chc file format. Medium term we'll switch to the argyll ccmx format which will simplify things a bit.


John
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,530 Posts
Thanks John.


I just ran through it 3 more times and on the last attempt it seems to be working somewhat (not sure what happened as I did the exact same process each time). The readings are not the same as CalMan but they are not totally off the wall as they were before. Definitely something strange going on but then I doubt many will attempt what I was trying to do, figured I would mention it anyway just in case it is indeed a bug. I guess this could present itself once the i1pro is fully compatible with HCFR 3.


Thanks again!

Jason
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by kha0tic /forum/post/21950013


It's best to run i1d3ccss on the command line. Read the Argyll manpage for the i1d3ccss program to understand what it does.


When i1Profiler is installed, the X-Rite .EDR files are located in ":\\Program Files\\X-Rite\\Devices\\i1d3\\Calibrations". i1d3ccss will convert the EDR files and install the converted ccss files into one of the following two directories, either \\ProgramData\\color or somewhere in \\Users\\\\AppData, the former if you specify the -S l flag and the latter if the -S u flag or omit the option.

I have converted the edr files into ccss files, and they are located in a directory under \\users\\user\\appdata.


Should I copy the ccss files into any specific directory under the HCFR folder, or HCFR will find them automatically?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,687 Posts
All three should be supported


1 is a rebadged i1d2

2 is a rebranded i1d3

3 is a colormunki photo (I have this one and it works fine)


John
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,687 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by knightc /forum/post/21953037


I have converted the edr files into ccss files, and they are located in a directory under \\users\\user\\appdata.


Should I copy the ccss files into any specific directory under the HCFR folder, or HCFR will find them automatically?

It should find these fils automatically.


John
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
475 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd /forum/post/21945929


yes, use refresh mode and make sure you hit "calibrate sensor" in the sensor configuration box while the sensor is viewing a pattern so it can sync properly (doesn't matter what intensity level)
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightc /forum/post/21947535


I remember that in HCFR 2.1, the sensor should be put on a black surface such as a DVD box to calibrate it. Is it same when I use HCFR 3.0.4.0?
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp /forum/post/21947714


Yes this is the same regardless of software, this is how most of the colorimeters do their calibration. Don't use a shiny reflective black surface, just a matte black.

Just trying to clarify why one post mentions using a pattern and the intensity level doesn't matter, while post mentions using matte black. I've heard of using the inside of a dvd case before but thought that wasn't necessary with an i1D3. Sorry, I must not be following something correctly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
442 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAd /forum/post/21953780


All three should be supported


1 is a rebadged i1d2

2 is a rebranded i1d3

3 is a colormunki photo (I have this one and it works fine)


John

Hi,


very good news and for the colormunki photo (I have one too), it work without problem with windows 7 ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
475 Posts
I noticed the i1d3ccss page says in addtion to converting the EDR file to CCSS, it also installs them "where the measurement tools can automatically find them, so that they can be selected using the -X option". Then it goes on to mention using the ARGYLL_COLMTER_CAL_SPEC_SET environment variable if you are going to use the same CCSS file all the time.


I do plan to use the same CCSS file all the time but I'm only reading at this point, so does the above apply with HCFR? Couldn't find any more info on this so I just want to make sure I use the proper CCSS file each time I use HCFR. Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,804 Posts
Discussion Starter #532

Quote:
Originally Posted by 65Cobra427SC /forum/post/21953809


Just trying to clarify why one post mentions using a pattern and the intensity level doesn't matter, while post mentions using matte black. I've heard of using the inside of a dvd case before but thought that wasn't necessary with an i1D3. Sorry, I must not be following something correctly.

Depends on the meter. I was referring to the i1D3 which does not require dark calibration but does require syncing to the source when in refresh mode. So with that meter when you hit the "calibrate" button it goes through it's syncing routine. With a meter like the i1pro you need to block the aperture when you calibrate it because it's calculating a dark offset.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,687 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thebes /forum/post/21953861


Hi,


very good news and for the colormunki photo (I have one too), it work without problem with windows 7 ?

It works for me in windows 7 just fine.


John
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,687 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by 65Cobra427SC /forum/post/21954162


I noticed the i1d3ccss page says in addtion to converting the EDR file to CCSS, it also installs them "where the measurement tools can automatically find them, so that they can be selected using the -X option". Then it goes on to mention using the ARGYLL_COLMTER_CAL_SPEC_SET environment variable if you are going to use the same CCSS file all the time.


I do plan to use the same CCSS file all the time but I'm only reading at this point, so does the above apply with HCFR? Couldn't find any more info on this so I just want to make sure I use the proper CCSS file each time I use HCFR. Thanks.

In the meter dialog page in HCFR it lists the ccss files it finds in the same place that argyll would look. It won't do anything without you explictly selecting it, that environment variable will effect spotread but not HCFR.


John
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
475 Posts
Installed i1Profiler to access the .edr files for my i1D3, but none of the files in the i1d3\\Calibrations directory are for a Plasma display...


CCFLFamily_07Feb11.edr

ProjectorFamily_07Feb11.edr

RGBLEDFamily_07Feb11.edr

WGCCFLFamily_07Feb11.edr

WLEDFamily_07Feb11.edr


Do I have any other options?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,530 Posts
Use refresh and allow the meter to sync (calibrate) to the display.


Jason
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,804 Posts
Discussion Starter #539
Quote:
Originally Posted by 65Cobra427SC
Installed i1Profiler to access the .edr files for my i1D3, but none of the files in the i1d3\\Calibrations directory are for a Plasma display...


CCFLFamily_07Feb11.edr

ProjectorFamily_07Feb11.edr

RGBLEDFamily_07Feb11.edr

WGCCFLFamily_07Feb11.edr

WLEDFamily_07Feb11.edr


Do I have any other options?
I created a spectral sample file using an i1pro on my plasma and the Dispcalgui software. I haven't tried to use it in HCFR yet but you can try it out here.


edit: To install the .ccss file use tools\\i1d3ccss and it will appear as an optional correction file in the i1d3 configuration box. I ran a gray scale using it and it improves the color temperature reading on my display but not as much as a correction matrix(attached) does. It also doesn't get the green primary location as well as the correction matrix.


There is also better agreement when you use the HCFR based method to build the ccmx which uses primaries+secondaries whereas the Dispcalgui builder only uses primaries.


\tCCT [K]\tLuminance [cd/m^2]
i1pro\t6450\t53.8
i1d3(no correction)\t6890\t53
i1d3(ccss corrected)\t6650\t54.3
i1d3(ccmx corrected/HCFR)\t6530\t52.9
i1d3(ccmx corrected/DispCalgui)\t6390\t56.6
 

d3_i1pro_samsungD8000.mhc.zip 0.435546875k . file
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd /forum/post/21957392


I created a spectral sample file using an i1pro on my plasma and the Dispcalgui software. I haven't tried to use it in HCFR yet but you can try it out here.


edit: To install the .ccss file use tools\\i1d3ccss and it will appear as an optional correction file in the i1d3 configuration box. I ran a gray scale using it and it improves the color temperature reading on my display but not as much as a correction matrix(attached) does. It also doesn't get the green primary location as well as the correction matrix.

CCT [K]Luminance [cd/m^2]
i1pro648055
i1d3(no correction)689051
i1d3(ccss corrected)665055
i1d3(ccmx corrected)653854

That's excellent zoyd. Someone got onto this even sooner that I was hoping. I'm looking at putting in the functionality to generate ccss files directly from HCFR at the moment (while John works on the more important stuff
). This should make it easier for people to make and upload them so that we hopefully get a big database of files for a wide variety of displays. This one you've made should be a big improvement over not using any correction for a plasma.
 
521 - 540 of 13608 Posts
Top