AVS Forum banner

1121 - 1140 of 13608 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
199 Posts
I'm getting major variances when trying to calibrate greyscale from 10-40 IRE, red and blue will move up and down by at least 6 percent without changing anything on the display (GT50), is this a limitation of my meter (i1 Display Pro) or is it something I may be doing wrong? I'm using AVS 709 for my patterns.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
607 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22698611


But doesn't everyone's colorimeter (i1D3) different?

I don't think you can simply apply the same adjustments to all i1D3 that are out there. Or am I missing it?
http://www.drycreekphoto.com/Learn/Calibration/MonitorCalibrationHardware.html


Instrument : i1Display Pro/CM Display

Units Tested : 13

Mean Delta-E 2000 : 0.4

Max DE-2000 : 1.6



Seems that there´s not so much variable between different units (when new).


Many have reported redish white balance without matrix.


Zoyd wrote earlier that using Matrix is more accurate than without it.

Of course you don´t get reference meter with using matrix which is made to other unit , but point is that you can get closer with that.


Zoyd made his one with i1 Pro 2 meter and kjgarrison´s matrix was delivered from Chromapure with meter. Those two matrixes are almost same, at least result is almost same. Only difference what I got was W/B High B +/- 1

rahzel reported same kind of results:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/840#post_22311630


However I used that and get rid of redish white.

Also color temperature difference is almost 500K, without matrix picture is too warm.

Of course it also affects to colors, CMS settings was also pretty different than without matrix.


You don´t have to use that, it´s there that you can try


Try to set one preset without matrix and other with matrix so you can compare those.


Thanks to zoyd and kjgarrison for sharing their matrixes.


Here is picture when matrix was entered and made grayscale remeasurement, as you can see it´s quite redish:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,645 Posts
Ya, unit to unit variations are fairly small on the i1D3. Obviously referencing your meter to a spectro on your particular display will be the best option, but using a correction matrix from another i1D3 will be considerably better than not using one. I almost ended up with the same settings with zoyd and kj's matrices.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
308 Posts
" Incorrect driver - Starting communication with the meter failed with severe error. Argyll error" I got this error when I used i1 Pro with HCFR on both laptop and desktop, already installed eye one pro argyll driver. Anyone knows why? dispcalGUI works fine though, it uses the same argyll driver as HCFR.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by fallengt  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22702505

" Incorrect driver - Starting communication with the meter failed with severe error. Argyll error" I got this error when I used i1 Pro with HCFR on both laptop and desktop, already installed eye one pro argyll driver. Anyone knows why? dispcalGUI works fine though, it uses the same argyll driver as HCFR.

Have a look here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1080#post_22662548


Currently only HCFR Version 3.0.0.0 works with i1 Pro or i1 Pro 2 (note: these devices are different from an an i1 DISPLAY Pro, the i1 Display Pro doesn't have the same issue). You don't need to change your Argyll drivers to use HCFR 3.0.0.0 it is compatible up to Argyll 1.4.0.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,043 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cobhc2010  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22700464


I'm getting major variances when trying to calibrate greyscale from 10-40 IRE, red and blue will move up and down by at least 6 percent without changing anything on the display (GT50), is this a limitation of my meter (i1 Display Pro) or is it something I may be doing wrong? I'm using AVS 709 for my patterns.

are you using small apl windows or fields for the patterns? You may be hitting the limiter on the panel. Have you let the panel warm up with the meter in measuring position? plasmas can take 30+ minutes to warm up, and if using the meter in contact mode, or close to the screen it should have its temperature stabilized as well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,059 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22703388


are you using small apl windows or fields for the patterns? You may be hitting the limiter on the panel. Have you let the panel warm up with the meter in measuring position? plasmas can take 30+ minutes to warm up, and if using the meter in contact mode, or close to the screen it should have its temperature stabilized as well.

my kuro needs a full hour.


b
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,407 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22701473

http://www.drycreekphoto.com/Learn/Calibration/MonitorCalibrationHardware.html


Instrument : i1Display Pro/CM Display

Units Tested : 13

Mean Delta-E 2000 : 0.4

Max DE-2000 : 1.6


Seems that there´s not so much variable between different units (when new).

Many have reported redish white balance without matrix.

Zoyd wrote earlier that using Matrix is more accurate than without it.

Of course you don´t get reference meter with using matrix which is made to other unit , but point is that you can get closer with that.

Zoyd made his one with i1 Pro 2 meter and kjgarrison´s matrix was delivered from Chromapure with meter. Those two matrixes are almost same, at least result is almost same. Only difference what I got was W/B High B +/- 1

rahzel reported same kind of results:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/840#post_22311630

However I used that and get rid of redish white.

Also color temperature difference is almost 500K, without matrix picture is too warm.

Of course it also affects to colors, CMS settings was also pretty different than without matrix.

You don´t have to use that, it´s there that you can try


Try to set one preset without matrix and other with matrix so you can compare those.

Thanks to zoyd and kjgarrison for sharing their matrixes.

Here is picture when matrix was entered and made grayscale remeasurement, as you can see it´s quite redish:
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22702206


Ya, unit to unit variations are fairly small on the i1D3. Obviously referencing your meter to a spectro on your particular display will be the best option, but using a correction matrix from another i1D3 will be considerably better than not using one. I almost ended up with the same settings with zoyd and kj's matrices.



Thanks, I like to give that a try. So if I've alrteady run my greyscale, can I enter the matrix and see how the numbers changes?


Or do I need to enter the matrix, and re-run grayscale?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,059 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22698766


correct, the only way to accurately use a correction matrix is to use your meter and a spectro to create the tables for each type of display.

Well, I paid an extra $150 to have this done from Tom and not sure if it was really necessary, at least for the plasma correction. Here is my table:



edit: deleted per Tom.





Not sure how significant the difference is?


bob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,804 Posts
Discussion Starter #1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by realzven  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22704973


Zoyd your matrix work with the colormunki display ?


Thanks

If it uses the same hardware it will help but i don't know if it does.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
607 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22705278


Well, I paid an extra $150 to have this done from Tom and not sure if it was really necessary, at least for the plasma correction. Here is my table:

Field Reference

White Red Green Blue White Red Green Blue

Plasma

x 0.315 0.638 0.296 0.149 0.325 0.649 0.303 0.150

y 0.336 0.339 0.615 0.062 0.335 0.326 0.608 0.063

Not sure how significant the difference is?

bob

Four colour matrix


1,0575508364 -0,0090725012 -0,0145563124

-0,0030463377 1,0004775457 -0,0005755271

0,0031198015 0,0048183942 0,9667572552


Here is how your matrix affects to RGB Levels when added to calibrated RGB Levels without any correction.



Seems little bit different than zoyd´s or kjgarrisons´s

i1D3 spongebob matrix made by Tom Huffman.zip 0k .zip file
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,059 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22706771


Four colour matrix

1,0575508364 -0,0090725012 -0,0145563124

-0,0030463377 1,0004775457 -0,0005755271

0,0031198015 0,0048183942 0,9667572552


Please explain in real world terms?


bob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
607 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22706815


Please explain in real world terms?

bob

See attachment and:

Advanced-->XYZ coordinates adjustment matrix-->manually edit XYZ conversion matrix-->Load


I´m totally amateur
, just used calculator from:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/630#post_22046028


If I change zoyd´s or kjgarrison´s matrix to your one it looks like this:


Seems that it needs even more red reducing.


Thanks for sharing this one, I´m gonna try with your matrix at next time



btw, I can find from Argyll database .ccmx for Panasonic plasma television but is there any way to use that with HCFR? Convert .ccmx to .ccss or something
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
199 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22703388


are you using small apl windows or fields for the patterns? You may be hitting the limiter on the panel. Have you let the panel warm up with the meter in measuring position? plasmas can take 30+ minutes to warm up, and if using the meter in contact mode, or close to the screen it should have its temperature stabilized as well.

Small APL's, leaving it to warm up for an hour with the meter about 6 inches away from the screen. Still fluxuates a lot.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,043 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cobhc2010  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22706840


Small APL's, leaving it to warm up for an hour with the meter about 6 inches away from the screen. Still fluxuates a lot.

you can try to isolate where the fluctuation is sourced by


changing cables

changing inputs

changing blu-ray and dvd players

check the sets user menus and ensure any dynamic contrast, noise, black enhancement etc are off


I'll guess there is some setting on the set that is on and causing the fluctuation you are experiencing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,059 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22706831


See attachment and:

Advanced-->XYZ coordinates adjustment matrix-->manually edit XYZ conversion matrix-->Load

I´m totally amateur
, just used calculator from:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/630#post_22046028

If I change zoyd´s or kjgarrison´s matrix to your one it looks like this:


Seems that it needs even more red reducing.

Thanks for sharing this one, I´m gonna try with your matrix at next time


btw, I can find from Argyll database .ccmx for Panasonic plasma television but is there any way to use that with HCFR? Convert .ccmx to .ccss or something

YW



Let me know how it goes.


bob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,804 Posts
Discussion Starter #1,140
Typical d3 offsets are around 500K, probe variability is probably in the 100K-200K range so I would expect to see that kind of variation when comparing different correction matrices.
 
1121 - 1140 of 13608 Posts
Top