AVS Forum banner

1141 - 1160 of 13608 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,804 Posts
Discussion Starter #1,141

Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22706831



btw, I can find from Argyll database .ccmx for Panasonic plasma television but is there any way to use that with HCFR? Convert .ccmx to .ccss or something

ccmx is the same as matrix, look in the file and you will see the numbers to plug into hcfr
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,059 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by dml1333  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/690#post_22162417


With the i1D3, you can just plug it in, no special drivers. However, you will want to run the i1D3ccss utility as mentioned here: http://sourceforge.net/p/hcfr/wiki/i1%20Display%203%20&%20colormunki%20display/ to get the display-type calibration files converted and installed.


How do you run this properly?


tried double clicking but can't figure out the command prompt thing


bob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
199 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1110#post_22707040


you can try to isolate where the fluctuation is sourced by

changing cables

changing inputs

changing blu-ray and dvd players

check the sets user menus and ensure any dynamic contrast, noise, black enhancement etc are off

I'll guess there is some setting on the set that is on and causing the fluctuation you are experiencing.

Thanks for the advice, I'll have to have a play with my PS3 instead of my Panasonic BTT590. I don't think it's a setting issue, as I've turned everything off that I can.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
199 Posts
I think I know what it is. My PS3 is playing the avc-hd version of AVS709 as 24p, where as the BTT is playing it as 60p, and for some reason, it won't let me force it to play at 24p :S
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,645 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1140#post_22707492


ccmx is the same as matrix, look in the file and you will see the numbers to plug into hcfr
Math was never my strong point.
How do you convert exponential notations to numbers? There are 3 of them.

-4.8218e-003

-4.2114e-004

6.6268e-003


edit:

-0.0048218

-0.00042114

0.0066268?


Plugged it in and it's very close to kj's matrix. Using my calibration from my 60ST50 using kj's matrix, my avg dE from 20-100 was 1.42, and it's 1.74 using the matrix above. This is what I plugged in:
Code:
Code:
[CODE]1.0383       -0.015199   -0.012862 
0.030022     0.96707     -0.0048218 
-0.00042114  0.0066268   0.95594
[/CODE]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
607 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1140#post_22707747


How do you run this properly?

tried double clicking but can't figure out the command prompt thing

bob

You don´t need to do that because you have matrix correction (correction for plasma display type is included in that matrix...thx zoyd
).

Just choose "Display Type : i1D3 Refresh display"

Leave "Spectral sample" empty/none

Load your matrix "Advanced-->XYZ coordinates adjustment matrix-->manually edit XYZ conversion matrix-->Load" and ready to go.

(Sync i1D3 with your TV at IRE30 window by pressing calibrate from sensor configure.)

However if you have not ever used command prompt it´s like this:

cd..

cd..

cd program files (x86)

cd hcfr calibration

cd tools

i1d3ccss
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1140#post_22707492


ccmx is the same as matrix, look in the file and you will see the numbers to plug into hcfr

Oh, thanks


There is two different matrixes for i1D3 created with Panasonic plasma against i1Pro meter.

Gonna try those.



Here are all those six matrix correction .mhc files for i1 Display Pro(3) with plasma TV which I found:
Matrix for i1DPro(3) or CM Display with plasma.zip 2k .zip file


Made calibration with "Panasonic plasma 1 matrix for i1D3 against i1Pro from Argyll database.mhc" matrix and finally I´m happy to results

Panasonic TX-P55ST50Y calibration.zip 28k .zip file

Some more calibrations when I´ll get new panel under warranty because of burn-in.

Interesting to see how new panel affects to settings.

However that goes till February because Panasonic couldn´t deliver that quicker to Finland and I´ll do some running in before calibration.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,059 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1140#post_22709119


You don´t need to do that because you have matrix correction (correction for plasma display type is included in that matrix...thx zoyd
).

Just choose "Display Type : i1D3 Refresh display"

Leave "Spectral sample" empty/none

Load your matrix "Advanced-->XYZ coordinates adjustment matrix-->manually edit XYZ conversion matrix-->Load" and ready to go.

(Sync i1D3 with your TV at IRE30 window by pressing calibrate from sensor configure.)


Are you helping me with my custom D3PRO offsets posted above??


If so, I don't have a clue plus I have no "Z" measures??


thx


bob


edit: deleted per Tom's request
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,645 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1140#post_22709119



Here are all those six matrix correction .mhc files for i1 Display Pro(3) with plasma TV which I found:
Matrix for i1DPro(3) or CM Display with plasma.zip 2k .zip file

Made calibration with "Panasonic plasma 1 matrix for i1D3 against i1Pro from Argyll database.mhc" matrix and finally I´m happy to results

Panasonic TX-P55ST50Y calibration.zip 28k .zip file
Some more calibrations when I´ll get new panel under warranty because of burn-in.

Interesting to see how new panel affects to settings.

However that goes till February because Panasonic couldn´t deliver that quicker to Finland and I´ll do some running in before calibration.
Already had them saved, but thanks for grouping them together and uploading them. Will be useful for i1D3 owners.


Which one did you end up using? The one dated 2012-12-14 or 2012-12-13?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,059 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1140#post_22712201


Already had them saved, but thanks for grouping them together and uploading them. Will be useful for i1D3 owners.

Which one did you end up using? The one dated 2012-12-14 or 2012-12-13?


So, how do we import them into HCFR?



bob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,645 Posts
Advanced -> XYZ coordinates adjustment matrix -> manually edit XYZ conversion matrix. Click on Load, locate the mhc file of your choice and click Ok. In the top right, you can see a checkbox under 'Parameters' called 'XYZ adjustment'. You can see how the matrix adjusts your measurements by simply checking or un-checking this box.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
607 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1140#post_22711672


Are you helping me with my custom D3PRO offsets posted above??

Already did couple of times and even saved your matrix to .mhc file


Open that "Matrix for i1DPro(3) or CM Display with plasma.zip" file (also uploaded your matrix at post #1134)

There you can find file named "Plasma matrix for i1D3 delivered by Tom Huffman to spongebob.mhc"

That is your matrix with values you posted.

Follow my or rahzel instructions.


rahzel,

I used that which is dated (2012-12-14 18:24:13)

In that .zip it´s named to "Panasonic plasma 1 matrix for i1D3 against i1Pro from Argyll database.mhc"


Here is True Cinema factory defaults measuring which I forgot put to that .zip if someone want to do some comparing with calibrated one:
TX-P55ST50Y True Cinema Panasonic 1 matrix factory defaults.zip 12k .zip file
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,059 Posts
Could you guys make a correction matrix based on this:



0.452774 0.303060 0.299566 0.296618 0.296683 0.296700 0.295830 0.296319 0.297023 0.297691 0.297937

0.354590 0.325165 0.325974 0.322322 0.324030 0.324330 0.324183 0.324745 0.325589 0.325493 0.326133

0.022196 0.651951 3.451555 8.878674 17.101594 28.496720 42.865701 60.979649 82.166722 107.004999 134.724583



I'll explain later!


thx


bob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
607 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1140#post_22711672


Are you helping me with my custom D3PRO offsets...

edit: deleted per Tom's request

So it´s not suitable to share?
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1140#post_22712949


Could you guys make a correction matrix based on this...

bob

You gave values from one gray scale measurement, you think that someone could make matrix from that info?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,059 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73  /t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/1140#post_22713562


So it´s not suitable to share?

Apparently not. I had assumed that the corrections were only for my specific meter and really wouldn't mean that much to others, but I have a lot of respect for Tom and will respect his wish.


bob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
Sorry for the long post and multiple questions, any feedback/ help would be greatly appreciated.


I would like to know if the ColorMunki Display requires calibration prior to taking initial and future readings for different calibration sessions. If so how do I do this (30IRE window, 100IRE window, inside of a black DVD case, etc.)


I have an Optoma HD8200 and use display type "refresh" as it is a DLP. I am using the Spectral .ccss file samples and select the Projector (Marantz, HP, Panasonic, Projector Hybrids EDR) from the drop down box. When I click calibrate sensor nothing seems to happen, any verification, etc. I am able to take measurements but I keep thinking that if I did not do something correctly during this initial set-up are the readings I am obtaining correct? I realize that this is a budget meter and have read that it is equivalent to the i1Display Pro with different firmware and the main difference being it takes longer to obtain its readings.


Thus far, is there anything I should be doing differently? I would also like to do my plasma & led but want to get the fundamental basics down before I get into those.


Furthermore, besides the RGB graphs; while taking continuous measures; are the other graphs (luminance, gamma, etc.) viewable in "real-time" while making adjustments so that I can see what effect they have on gamma/ luminance? I have several options available in the projectors user menu for gamma; curve type/ offset and would like to change these values while viewing the gamma & luminance graphs in real-time. Is this possible with this software (ver. 3.0.4.0) or do I have to run a full grayscale 0IRE to 100 IRE to see the results each time I make an adjustment?


The reason I ask this is because my initial reading prior to my calibration session seemed consistent with RGB levels published in professional reviews for this projector; all 3 primaries track relatively linear (blue +15%, green at D6500 +/- 200 and red -10%) and it tracked linear at 2.25 gamma and was almost bang on for the different stimulus points on the luminance graph. Because of the linear tracking of the RGB it was relatively easy to get all 3 primaries to track tight to 6500K with a deltaE of 3 or less from 20IRE to 100IRE. Then I noticed that all of my IRE values were now below the reference luminance line on the graph. I also notice that my gamma changed from a very linear 2.25 to a non-stable avg. gamma of 2.0 to 2.4 at the various stimulus points. If RGB are now equal why is gamma and luminance off?


So I am trying to figure out this calibration thing through trial and error and hoping I can solve this problem. Viewing a graph in real-time would probably make me understand what the changes to the gamma curve type/ offset are doing vs. trail & error and full grayscale measurements each time I make a change.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Hello, sorry im new to avs forum an i apoligize in advanced if i ask to much. I am wanting to calibrate my tv's and i allready own spyder3tv with the software but ive seen alot of great calibrations done with hcfr, but i dont understand much of it, nor how to use. Does anybody know of a good tutorial on how to use or can anybody explain please, like i said befor i have spyder3 but tv still looks horrible. Also the tv's i wanna calibrate are a lg 42lv400 and a vizio, both 42".

http://m.lg.com/us/tvs/lg-42LV4400-led-tv
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
607 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
629 Posts
is there any trick to getting stable readings with the i1D3 at lower ire's with a plasma? Ive had the meter on a 30% window for seriously 5 minutes now, thinking it will eventually stabilize, but it hasn't. Red especially bounces all over the place, ive seen it jump between 97 and 106% pretty frequently. How on earth am i supposed to get an even remotely accurate calibration if it's going to be this way?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
199 Posts
I'd like to know this too, I can't seem to get it stable, even if I leave a 30% pattern up there long enough that it feels like it's gonna burn into my screen. Really wondering if I made the right choice with the i1D3...


Just to confirm, I've tried two different players, both AVS709 and GCD (both sizes of apl and non apl on both disks), contact and non contact, with and without a correction matrix, etc.
 
1141 - 1160 of 13608 Posts
Top