AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to all this, so bear with me! I bought a HLM617 about three weeks ago, and a week later had the local cable company install a HD box. The picture was OK on all channels BUT the HD channels (of which there are only six.) The channels were like they were shaking at a very high speed. Cox came out and replaced the box, but it still happened, so they claimed it was the TV. To their credit, Showcase (a Tweeter company) replaced the set a couple of weeks later (but it was a different model--a HLN 617--I can't tell the difference). Although the picture is much better (the first TV, when it changed from a dark to a light scene on a movie, looked like you were looking through a screen door!) the HD signal still has some minor shaking. My question, should I take the box back to Cox and try the satellite version of HD with Direct TV? Has anyone else had this problem.

If you are kind enough to respond, do so as if you are talking to a 5 year old! lol!

·
Registered
28 Posts
Yes, exactly same happened to mine.

Only difference is my cable company is time warner cable.

My cable box is scientific America's Explorer 3100HD.

I have changed this boxes three times and nothings better.

I am subscribing both DirecTV and Cable for HD and on the DirecTV the picture is wonderful for HD.

You should change the thread title to HD Cable box problem with Sammy617.

I am still watching the cable HD but my wife hate it.

Thanks

Hyung

·
Registered
20 Posts