AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have had an Epson S1 for a bunch of years and am ready to purchase a new projector very soon. I've done a lot of reading here but I still need a bit more advice on the issue. I have been borrowing my sister's HD65 for a couple of months so I could get some perspective on the HD projectors. I have enjoyed using the HD65 quite a bit but have a few problems. First off the rainbow effect is fairly annoying for me, its not the worst thing in the world but I'd rather not see it. I also seem to be very sensitive to a lot of camera motion when watching movies and playing games on this projector. I don't know if what causes this. I also don't feel like the image is quite as bright as I would like. When there is a little light coming in from behind the shades the image gets washed out a lot more than I'd expect it should. With this experience in mind I would like to ask all of you how the new projectors fair with these issues COMPARED to the HD65? Specifically I am wondering how is the brightntess/contrast, and rainbow effect of the Optoma HD20 and the Mitsubishi HC3800 compared to the HD65.

PS. I am only considering the new Epson 8100 as a last resort because I was not very impressed with the quality of the last projector and subsequent issues with Epson as a company.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, I expect that. My question is "how much compared to the HD65?" which is the known quantity. I'm really hoping that owners of two of these can chime in.

·
Banned
2,411 Posts