AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 129 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I tried this new HDR to SDR beta firmware on my X4, but I wasn't able to get the same results as in the YouTube demo below.


I also used a PS4 Pro with Horizon Zero Dawn and the output of the downscaled 1080p source from my Vertex is still outwashed after sending it through the X4 with the HDR to SDR firmware. My X4 also doesn't seem to have any profiles to finetune the colors of the SDR output.
I attached a photo of the infoscreen of my Vertex.

I would be glad for any help.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,885 Posts
Hi all,

I tried this new HDR to SDR beta firmware on my X4, but I wasn't able to get the same results as in the YouTube demo below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjGDLCyovL0

I also used a PS4 Pro with Horizon Zero Dawn and the output of the downscaled 1080p source from my Vertex is still outwashed after sending it through the X4 with the HDR to SDR firmware. My X4 also doesn't seem to have any profiles to finetune the colors of the SDR output.
I attached a photo of the infoscreen of my Vertex.

I would be glad for any help.
Make sure the slide switch of the X4 is not on lock position, otherwise top buttons have no effect.
Which FW have you flashed ?
Beta 0.4 is due tomorrow or Monday.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
@HDfury thanks for the quick feedback. I flashed my X4 back to the latest scaler firmware this morning to check if my top-bottoms work as intended. During the flash process I noticed that the FPGA part normally takes a bit longer than the MCU part. I checked my HDR to SDR v0.2 firmware download and saw that there is no FPGA executable. I did the following now.

1) Download http://www.hdfury.com/tools/X4_HDR_SDR_0.1_beta.zip (there is no direct link on https://www.hdfury.com/product/hdfury-x4/ so I changed the current v0.2 link manually)

Code:
C:\Users\xxxxxxx\Downloads\X4_HDR_SDR_0.1_beta\X4_HDR_SDR_0.1_beta [Driver 4.0.0]

Mode                LastWriteTime         Length Name
----                -------------         ------ ----
-a----       05.10.2013     09:38         455328 msvcp120.dll
-a----       05.10.2013     09:38         970912 msvcr120.dll
-a----       29.11.2015     19:24        2594304 QtCore4.dll
-a----       29.11.2015     19:37        8604160 QtGui4.dll
-a----       01.07.2018     15:13           1792 ReadMeFirst.txt
-a----       23.03.2015     20:18         116736 SiUSBXp.dll
-a----       29.06.2018     15:32         221696 X4-HDRSDR-FPGA-V0.1.exe
-a----       29.06.2018     15:43         283136 X4-HDRSDR-MCU-V0.1.exe
-a----       29.06.2018     15:37        2097152 X4-HDRSDR0.1.bin
2) Run X4-HDRSDR-FPGA-V0.1.exe and X4-HDRSDR-MCU-V0.1.exe

3) Download http://www.hdfury.com/tools/X4_HDR_SDR_0.2_beta.zip (last and only link on https://www.hdfury.com/product/hdfury-x4/ at the moment)

Code:
C:\Users\xxxxxxx\Downloads\X4_HDR_SDR_0.2_beta\X4_HDR_SDR_0.2_beta [Driver 4.0.0]

Mode                LastWriteTime         Length Name
----                -------------         ------ ----
-a----       05.10.2013     09:38         455328 msvcp120.dll
-a----       05.10.2013     09:38         970912 msvcr120.dll
-a----       29.11.2015     19:24        2594304 QtCore4.dll
-a----       29.11.2015     19:37        8604160 QtGui4.dll
-a----       04.07.2018     03:00           1918 ReadMeFirst.txt
-a----       23.03.2015     20:18         116736 SiUSBXp.dll
-a----       29.06.2018     15:43         283136 X4-HDRSDR-MCU-V0.1.exe
-a----       03.07.2018     13:42         283648 X4-HDRSDR-MCU-V0.2.exe
-a----       29.06.2018     15:37        2097152 X4-HDRSDR0.1.bin
4) Run X4-HDRSDR-MCU-V0.1.exe and X4-HDRSDR-MCU-V0.2.exe

5) Testing the X4 in my setup again. I had to switch the X4 slider to PC-mode and than press the top upscale button once. Now the colors are very close to the 4K HDR original output. I think you should fix the firmware download on hdfury.com ;)
@HDfury so I have some new question now :)

- Can you say what firmware I have now on my X4 after the process described above? Is there a (GUI) tool or another way to check the current firmware of the X4?
- You wrote something about beta firmware v0.4. Were can I find v0.3 and v0.4 later?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,885 Posts
@HDfury thanks for the quick feedback. I flashed my X4 back to the latest scaler firmware this morning to check if my top-bottoms work as intended. During the flash process I noticed that the FPGA part normally takes a bit longer than the MCU part. I checked my HDR to SDR v0.2 firmware download and saw that there is no FPGA executable. I did the following now.

1) Download http://www.hdfury.com/tools/X4_HDR_SDR_0.1_beta.zip (there is no direct link on https://www.hdfury.com/product/hdfury-x4/ so I changed the current v0.2 link manually)
2) Run X4-HDRSDR-FPGA-V0.1.exe and X4-HDRSDR-MCU-V0.1.exe
3) Download http://www.hdfury.com/tools/X4_HDR_SDR_0.2_beta.zip (last and only link on https://www.hdfury.com/product/hdfury-x4/ at the moment)
4) Run X4-HDRSDR-MCU-V0.1.exe and X4-HDRSDR-MCU-V0.2.exe
5) Testing the X4 in my setup again. I had to switch the X4 slider to PC-mode and than press the top upscale button once. Now the colors are very close to the 4K HDR original output. I think you should fix the firmware download on hdfury.com ;)

@HDfury so I have some new question now :)
- Can you say what firmware I have now on my X4 after the process described above? Is there a (GUI) tool or another way to check the current firmware of the X4?
- You wrote something about beta firmware v0.4. Were can I find v0.3 and v0.4 later?
Yes, FPGA update always longer than MCU, same on all our devices.
0.2 MCU update package missed the 0.1 FPGA, so you did everything right.
I think the web issue you had was may be temp file or cookie with browser, because it was indeed correct link, if you have same problem, please try another browser or hit refresh to confirm.


For your questions: you have 0.2.0.1 in reality but since its beta and doesn't matter much we call this 0.2 because it's the highest version number. New one is 0.2.0.4 and we call it 0.4 (FPGA update have highest number here)
0.4 is available, see if you can find it ;)
It won't help on any HDR > SDR processing changes (or may be only few things)
It is mainly for the ambient-light solution
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Ok so i dont Change the Version from 0.2 if there is Nothing for HDR to SDR. It works for me at the Moment. Sometimes i have Sound Problems. So there is no Sound at the Elgato from the X4. So i have get the X4 to get the Signal new. I have to do this many time and then it works. Today it works from the beginning. I dont know why. I Change Nothing at the Setup.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
So how Well Dos this work with Most Tvs ? and how Well would it Work with a LG C7 oled ? dos it do 720p as well ? will it work with Pa3 games - ie frame packing ? will it work with all 1080p/720p blu rays that have 3D as an option ? are these still readily available? i suppose theres not much if any input lag , do i need any Addons ? why dos this Product exist when the Vertex exists ? and why cant any addons for the Vertex do the same ? what can the Vertex do that this Cant ? and vice versa ?


Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,885 Posts
So how Well Dos this work with Most Tvs ? and how Well would it Work with a LG C7 oled ? dos it do 720p as well ? will it work with Pa3 games - ie frame packing ? will it work with all 1080p/720p blu rays that have 3D as an option ? are these still readily available? i suppose theres not much if any input lag , do i need any Addons ? why dos this Product exist when the Vertex exists ? and why cant any addons for the Vertex do the same ? what can the Vertex do that this Cant ? and vice versa ?


Cheers
X4 is a FPGA design that operate in FULL HD domain. (HDMI/HDCP 1.x)
Vertex is UHD design that does Scaling and signal operation. (HDMI/HDCP 2.x)
They are both totally different purpose and design.


X4 will accept 3D and then output it in its home format to make it work on any TV, you need RF emitter add on and 3D glasses to work with it. all available from us.
If you are interested in purchase, please send email, so our guys can determine how many glasses you need and total cost and give you some discount if possible.


Yes it can work for 720p as well, actually for visual experience it's better to use 720p, especially if your display support 720p @ 120Hz as X4 can output this if possible.
X4 is available to add 3D to 2D display since 2012 !


Vertex cannot do that, first because Vertex doesn't have any RF emitter output to drive 3D glasses and second because Vertex is more toward 4K UHD/HDR/DV/HLG... which is the new trend today, while X4 first firmware for 3D, was the trend at that time.


X4 can act as 3 different purpose via 3 different available firmwares:
1. Add 3D on 2D display (3Dfury firmware)
2. Scale between SD/HD/FHD and PC resolution in HDMI/HDCP1.x domain (including 4:3 ratio and pc monitor resolution) with Scaler Firmware
3. as HDR > SDR converter with driver for ambient light solution (this firmware is discussed on this thread and work is underway)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,406 Posts
So does the new firmware functionality of the x4 in conjunction with the vertex fix the tone mapping/wide color gamut shortcomings of the OPPO 203? I have a JVC RS600 and have been using the vertex to disable the HDR flag to send a 4k UHD BT2020 signal to the JVC, which does the faux 4k e-shift to the picture. I have to use 'custom' curves to get the picture/colors to look right with this set up.

Would the X4/vertex combo produce a better pic than the e-shift faux 4k? Ie. does the Vertex/X4 combo do the tone mapping so that I can set my RS600 to BT2020 with a 2.4 gamma?

Sorry for the incoherent rambling. I'm not that tech savvy.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,885 Posts
So does the new firmware functionality of the x4 in conjunction with the vertex fix the tone mapping/wide color gamut shortcomings of the OPPO 203? I have a JVC RS600 and have been using the vertex to disable the HDR flag to send a 4k UHD BT2020 signal to the JVC, which does the faux 4k e-shift to the picture. I have to use 'custom' curves to get the picture/colors to look right with this set up.

Would the X4/vertex combo produce a better pic than the e-shift faux 4k? Ie. does the Vertex/X4 combo do the tone mapping so that I can set my RS600 to BT2020 with a 2.4 gamma?

Sorry for the incoherent rambling. I'm not that tech savvy.
2.4 Gamma, not yet, very very early beta atm.
I'm not sure about the issue you mention with Oppo203, Oppo203 (1000$ approx.) and LRP (4000$ approx.) can work for 4K, X4 only got 1080p (it needs a downscaler such as Vertex or Linker upfront for 4K HDR source to 1080p SDR)


I think the solution you are using at the moment for your projector is prolly one of the best you can find but feel free to compare with direct feed from X4 1080p output.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
I'm having issues with my x4 with HDR->SDR firmware 0.4beta.
After awhile and a few switches from SDR and HDR, the x4's big blue X goes "blinky-blinky" and restarts. Sometimes when it comes back my ambient light system (DreamScreen4k) doesn't work. The X4 gets into what looks like a reboot/restart cycle.


I have it hooked up along with the Vertex to split the signal like this:
Marantz AV7704 -> Vertex (1080 HDR output) -> X4 -> DreamScreen4k
Vertex (2160 HDR output) -> LG OLED65C8P

When I hook it up without the X4, I do get it working through just the Vertex to the DreamScreen4k directly, but the colors (as has been noted elsewhere) are a bit off doing it this way for HDR content since the DreamScreen4k really can't handle HDR correctly(unlike what they say on the box).

Is the reboot cycling of the X4 a known issue at this beta stage?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,885 Posts
I'm having issues with my x4 with HDR->SDR firmware 0.4beta.
After awhile and a few switches from SDR and HDR, the x4's big blue X goes "blinky-blinky" and restarts. Sometimes when it comes back my ambient light system (DreamScreen4k) doesn't work. The X4 gets into what looks like a reboot/restart cycle.


I have it hooked up along with the Vertex to split the signal like this:
Marantz AV7704 -> Vertex (1080 HDR output) -> X4 -> DreamScreen4k
Vertex (2160 HDR output) -> LG OLED65C8P

When I hook it up without the X4, I do get it working through just the Vertex to the DreamScreen4k directly, but the colors (as has been noted elsewhere) are a bit off doing it this way for HDR content since the DreamScreen4k really can't handle HDR correctly(unlike what they say on the box).

Is the reboot cycling of the X4 a known issue at this beta stage?

Please start by posting your Vertex config as attachment, as it can very much comes from Vertex config.
Also please confirm cable length at Vertex input/output and at X4 output and how you are powering both units.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
Please start by posting your Vertex config as attachment, as it can very much comes from Vertex config.
Also please confirm cable length at Vertex input/output and at X4 output and how you are powering both units.

Both my the x4 and Vertex are powered by the included usb to AC Adapters.

The cable lengths from vertex input from my Marantz Pre/Pro is 15ft and from Vertex outputs to the X4 and output of the X4 are 3 feet (shortest HDMI 2.0 18Gbps capable I've got).

I haven't used the Windows GUI software yet, I just hooked up the Vertex and set the scaling and HDCP 2.2 via the sliders on the device. I'll install the windows GUI, run the firmware updater, and get the config to attach later tonight when I get home from work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,885 Posts
Both my the x4 and Vertex are powered by the included usb to AC Adapters.

The cable lengths from vertex input from my Marantz Pre/Pro is 15ft and from Vertex outputs to the X4 and output of the X4 are 3 feet (shortest HDMI 2.0 18Gbps capable I've got).

I haven't used the Windows GUI software yet, I just hooked up the Vertex and set the scaling and HDCP 2.2 via the sliders on the device. I'll install the windows GUI, run the firmware updater, and get the config to attach later tonight when I get home from work.
Do you have lock icon on Vertex OLED ? if yes, just remove it should fix your issue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
Do you have lock icon on Vertex OLED ? if yes, just remove it should fix your issue.

No Lock (except when I updated the MCU/FPGA firmware... followed the readme instructions to remove the lock after firmware update).

So, I upgrade the firmware and used the Windows GUI app to set autoscale presets to 1080 8bit for the top output going to the X4.

Still has the X4 blink and reset issue and playback of Plex 4k HDR content stops. Happens consistently now.

Just using the Vertex, same settings, without the X4 in the chain everything is fine except the slight off colors on the Dreamscreen ambilight on HDR content.
Without Vertex or X4, the Dreamscreen ambilight flickers on HDR 4k content. So definitely want to keep the Vertex in the chain, and find the right settings to keep the X4 from the reset loop it's in now when playing HDR content.


I've attached the exported config for my vertex.

EDIT: hmmm... with the preset option to 1080p 8p downscaling, the colors aren't all that off on the Dreamscreen Ambilight. Is HDR -> SDR conversion via the X4 not necessary anymore with the 1.33.1.35 Vertex firmware released today?
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,885 Posts
No Lock (except when I updated the MCU/FPGA firmware... followed the readme instructions to remove the lock after firmware update).

So, I upgrade the firmware and used the Windows GUI app to set autoscale presets to 1080 8bit for the top output going to the X4.

Still has the X4 blink and reset issue and playback of Plex 4k HDR content stops. Happens consistently now.

Just using the Vertex, same settings, without the X4 in the chain everything is fine except the slight off colors on the Dreamscreen ambilight on HDR content.
Without Vertex or X4, the Dreamscreen ambilight flickers on HDR 4k content. So definitely want to keep the Vertex in the chain, and find the right settings to keep the X4 from the reset loop it's in now when playing HDR content.


I've attached the exported config for my vertex.

EDIT: hmmm... with the preset option to 1080p 8p downscaling, the colors aren't all that off on the Dreamscreen Ambilight. Is HDR -> SDR conversion via the X4 not necessary anymore with the 1.33.1.35 Vertex firmware released today?

No no, 1.33.1.35 doesn't change anything regarding HDR to SDR, Vertex is not and will never be capable of converting HDR to SDR. X4 definitively needed for that.


Please try to export your config when you are trying so we can get real data regarding incoming and outgoing signal and edid, because on this config you are in AUTOSCALING and AUTOMIX
I would use CUSTOM and AUTOSCALING as recommended by default for testing. but in all cases, try to export config when you are the signal going through.


Also try with default AUTOSCALING preset, as Vertex can auto determine the best to send to X4, no problem for that, it's made for that .

Also confirm cable length between equipment.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
No no, 1.33.1.35 doesn't change anything regarding HDR to SDR, Vertex is not and will never be capable of converting HDR to SDR. X4 definitively needed for that.


Please try to export your config when you are trying so we can get real data regarding incoming and outgoing signal and edid, because on this config you are in AUTOSCALING and AUTOMIX
I would use CUSTOM and AUTOSCALING as recommended by default for testing. but in all cases, try to export config when you are the signal going through.


Also try with default AUTOSCALING preset, as Vertex can auto determine the best to send to X4, no problem for that, it's made for that .

Also confirm cable length between equipment.
Ok I've attached two configs here taken while the vertex was active with 4k HDR content.
I also switched to custom instead of Automix as you suggested.

First is labelled reboot, and has the Autoscaling presets I chose originally.
Second is labelled Autosense, and has the Autoscaling set to Autosense defaults as you mentioned.

Every few minutes or even under a minute of playback (varies), the X4 reboots, then a few minutes of working, then reboots, then a few seconds, then reboots. One change I will note is that previously this would sometimes stop playback on the other vertex output, but today with these settings it doesn't stop playback on the TV itself, the X4 just reboots with a blink/flash of the blue logo on the box and ambilight from DreamScreen stops for a bit until the X4 restarts again.
No change from previous behavior that I noted.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,885 Posts
Ok I've attached two configs here taken while the vertex was active with 4k HDR content.
I also switched to custom instead of Automix as you suggested.

First is labelled reboot, and has the Autoscaling presets I chose originally.
Second is labelled Autosense, and has the Autoscaling set to Autosense defaults as you mentioned.

Every few minutes or even under a minute of playback (varies), the X4 reboots, then a few minutes of working, then reboots, then a few seconds, then reboots. One change I will note is that previously this would sometimes stop playback on the other vertex output, but today with these settings it doesn't stop playback on the TV itself, the X4 just reboots with a blink/flash of the blue logo on the box and ambilight from DreamScreen stops for a bit until the X4 restarts again.
No change from previous behavior that I noted.


Can you please confirm how Vertex and X4 are powered in your setup and cable length between equipment please.


When you use custom EDID and disconnect one output it won't disturb the EDID at input, but if you use automix, which is a mix of EDID at output, and disconnect one output, then the edid mix is re-created and hotplug event re-sent so you will see second vertex output flashing once, that is normal.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
Can you please confirm how Vertex and X4 are powered in your setup and cable length between equipment please.
I mentioned that a few posts up... but I can re-quote myself here:

Both my the x4 and Vertex are powered by the included usb to AC Adapters.

The cable lengths from vertex input from my Marantz Pre/Pro is 15ft and from Vertex outputs to the X4 and output of the X4 are 3 feet (shortest HDMI 2.0 18Gbps capable I've got).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,111 Posts
Does the HDR to SDR conversion add any latency?

What would the total latency from Vertex -> (downscale 4K HDR to 1080P HDR) -> HDFury X4 (HDR -> SDR) be?
 
1 - 20 of 129 Posts
Top