AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
375 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm confused about why most home theater businesses and customers are so quick to dump their non HDMI preprocessors?

I have been using a Rotel 1066 for 5 years. It is a good but not great processor. Recently I went down to the local home theater store in Vegas and they had a Lexicon M-8 preprocessor with the balanced cable upgrade and the upgrade for microphone equalization.

The unit was a demo with a list price of of close to $8,000.00. They sold it to me for a song, lets say at such a discount it would cost more to buy a new Rotel processor. They just couldn't get rid of it because it has no HDMI connections!

For video I connect my new Oppo BD 93 bluray player modified by ASi Teknologies. directly to my 60" pioneer kuro via HDMI and the audio is sent to the lexicon via the oppo's analog and digital outputs.

The new lexicon is far superior to the old rotel. My system's video and audio is outstanding.

Why would people get rid of an excellent piece of equipment just to send HDMI video from the source to the processor? I would presume this set up would just degrade the picture. Of course this presupposes the other zones are being used.

·
Registered
5,995 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by i30krab /forum/post/16910398

Why would people get rid of an excellent piece of equipment just to send HDMI video from the source to the processor? I would presume this set up would just degrade the picture. Of course this presupposes the other zones are being used.

- HDMI is digital, so there should be no degradation using a receiver. I can tell you why I upgraded from my Marantz SR-7400 (non-HDMI) to a Denon 3808ci.

1. The Marantz only had one set of analog inputs, so if I wanted lossless audio from both my HD-DVD, PS3 and future devices, I would need to buy a HDMI switch. You can't get multi-channel lossless from toslink.