AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an older hdtv. It has 2 hdmi inputs (video only) and to get the audio you have to connect red white cables to the audio inputs on the tv. The problem is that the dvd players and direct tv box I have don't have red/white rca slots.


My direct tv box has a coaxial and optical digital audio out slot next to the hdmi slot

My dvd player only has a optical digital out slot next to the hdmi slot.



I've been just using the g,b,y,r,w,r slots, but I am planning on selling the tv soon and I know if I can't get a cable that will make it work with newer hardware I will never be able to sell it.




Solutions?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by petern /forum/post/20844082


You have a DirecTV receiver with no analog audio output? Are you sure?

The red, white on the receiver are only for the yellow,blue, green outputs.


The coaxial and optical outputs are for the hdmi, trust me I already tried.


I found these...which one would I need to do the trick?

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...mat=4#feedback



http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10423&cs_id=1042302&p_id=8127&seq=1&format=2
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
434 Posts
What's the model number of your DirecTV receiver? It's on the sticker in the card slot door.


The Yellow RCA is Composite video output (not HD).


The Green, Blue, & Red RCA video outputs are component video (480i/p, 720p, 1080i).


The Red and White analog audio outputs, and the Digital Coax and Digital Optical should be always active no matter which video output you are using.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,596 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by schan1269
on the HD box you have, all outputs are ALWAYS hot.


Connect your HDMI and red/white.


What TV/monitor is this, cause I don't ever remember an HDMI equipped device where the HDMI didn't include audio.
This is indeed an odd one. HDMI, by current specification, includes audio. HDMI 1.0 was intended as an improvement to DVI-HDTV which did not include audio. The OP's manual didn't have a date, as far as I saw, but I would guess 2002 or 2003.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I have tried hooking up the red white every which way possible, then went back and tried all options again with no luck. Either they aren't always live or the red white on the tv don't work.


The thing that gets me is that when I have the red white and hdmi just hooked up and going into the cable box accordingly and I change the source to hdmi I get sound for about a second then it goes silent. Every time I change to another source and then back to hdmi it does the same thing.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
2,914 Posts
I just read the manual.


Apparently only HDMI audio 1 works with the red/white analog inputs near it (page 27)


HDMI 2 is out of luck cause it is explained nowhere.


Your Directv box SHOULD have the red-white hot at the same time as the HDMI(I have 3 HD DVR's and 1 regular HD box...and they all have ALL outputs hot ALL the time). If not, call Directv for a new box.


The other problem could be in internal problem of the TV. Try connecting something else to the Directv box for sound directly off the box...if that works, but not on the TV(per page 27), then your TV has problem.


Your other solution is to completely ignore the HDMI. There is ABSOLUTELY NO DIFFERENCE in running Component Video to this TV over HDMI...ABSOLUTELY NO DIFFERENCE.


Edit:

On page 85, they did a typo on the


Intput Terminals

Video Input (rear Side)

Input 3 and 4


They should match. They typo'd those.


Or, here is another option(cause this is so inexpensive...)
http://www.amazon.com/Onkyo-HTX-22HD...3820699&sr=1-1


Edit 2:

This is the first TV I've ever run across where the HDMI didn't include the audio.


Edit 3:

I am starting to think the TV is having a problem, but I might have a solution. The Headphone jack(page 28) may have dust in it, if you have a can of compressed air(like for a computer), spray it out. Re-reading page 27 leads me to believe the TV has an internal switch for that ONE SET of RCA to switch between the three video input, so you can only hook up one of three things for the audio. This is a very poor design.


Edit 4:

Just to let you know. You are probably doing NOTHING wrong. Based on re-reading page 27, how you design one set of RCA audio inputs to cover 3 video inputs, 2 HDMI and VGA, is beyond me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,019 Posts
This might be a case where a Home Theater in a Box might be a good solution. Usually consists of a relatively lowend A/V receiver and a set of 5 speakers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
I can confirm that all the direct tv receiver ports are always hot. However When I plug into the red white for the hdmi sound no audio works either.


I also compared the component video quality to the hdmi video quality using SciHD as a reference and the component actually looked better, a little better color and more crisp....now how does that make sense?
 

·
Registered
LG 55" C9 OLED, Yamaha RX-A660, Monoprice 5.1.2 Speakers, WMC HTPC, TiVo Bolt, X1
Joined
·
45,754 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleax1 /forum/post/20845749


I can confirm that all the direct tv receiver ports are always hot. However When I plug into the red white for the hdmi sound no audio works either.

You may have to configure the HDTV in the menu to 'look' at the analog audio inputs, or the HDMI port you are using may require a specific set of red/white analog inputs to be used.


Another possibility is the HDTV simply is broken, with zero audio output from any source.

Quote:
I also compared the component video quality to the hdmi video quality using SciHD as a reference and the component actually looked better, a little better color and more crisp....now how does that make sense?

Because technically HDMI video quality and component video quality for 1080i and 720p are the same.


Further, how the DirecTV HD box and the HDTV are designed and manufactured may affect HDMI and component video quality.
 

·
Registered
LG 55" C9 OLED, Yamaha RX-A660, Monoprice 5.1.2 Speakers, WMC HTPC, TiVo Bolt, X1
Joined
·
45,754 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleax1
Where did that long post go? I wanted to re-read it this morning.
It's back, edited for clarity.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
So is the assumption now that ever if I got a convertor that it should not make a difference because if the audio was working it would have worked at some point during all these testing attempts?
 

·
Registered
LG 55" C9 OLED, Yamaha RX-A660, Monoprice 5.1.2 Speakers, WMC HTPC, TiVo Bolt, X1
Joined
·
45,754 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleax1 /forum/post/20846246


So is the assumption now that ever if I got a convertor that it should not make a difference because if the audio was working it would have worked at some point during all these testing attempts?

Right.


All the converter does is take digital audio and makes it analog. If the HDTV won't do analog from the DVD player or the DirecTV box now, it won't do it from the converter.
 

·
Registered
LG 55" C9 OLED, Yamaha RX-A660, Monoprice 5.1.2 Speakers, WMC HTPC, TiVo Bolt, X1
Joined
·
45,754 Posts
Ok, I looked at the manual. At the beginning it specifically references HDMI carrying both audio and video on a single cable, so I don't think the analog inputs are the only option for audio input. This is in spite of the picture on page 27 showing the use of HDMI for video and analog l/r stereo for audio. I may be wrong about this, but the only way to know is to try it.


It's possible the set can only accept Dolby Digital audio on the HDMI input, and the DirecTV HD box is set for PCM (CD type) audio. Can you verify the DirecTV HD box digital audio output?


Since you've already seen that component video looks better, you might as well use component video and analog l/r audio for both the DVD player and DirecTV HD box, and be done with it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,596 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H /forum/post/20846389


Right.


All the converter does is take digital audio and makes it analog. If the HDTV won't do analog from the DVD player or the DirecTV box now, it won't do it from the converter.

The OP stated early on that his DirecTV box HAD NO analog output. His only R/W audio out of his DirecTV box was part of the component output, and not live all the time(?). Being there sure would make this easier.
 

·
Registered
LG 55" C9 OLED, Yamaha RX-A660, Monoprice 5.1.2 Speakers, WMC HTPC, TiVo Bolt, X1
Joined
·
45,754 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 /forum/post/20848226


The OP stated early on that his DirecTV box HAD NO analog output.

All DirecTV boxes have analog audio out, and all the outputs are active all the time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 /forum/post/20848226


Being there sure would make this easier.

Indeed.
 
1 - 20 of 32 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top