AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,526 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Little 500 to be broadcast in high definition format
By Dan Patrick, April 16, 2003

Full story at: http://www.idsnews.com/story.php?id=16174


Indiana University's 2003 Little 500 bicycle race will be brought to viewers across the country by HDNet in high definition sound and a movie theater-like 16:9 aspect ratio. The premier collegiate cycling event has been on national television and this year will be presented live in high-definition television (HDTV) for the first time by HDNet.


The network will broadcast the 53rd running of the men's Little 500 race live at IU Bloomington's Bill Armstrong Stadium, which begins at 3 p.m. EDT (2 p.m. CDT) on April 26. In addition, HDNet will air a one-hour package on April 25 at 8 p.m. EDT (7 p.m. CDT) featuring highlights from the women's Little 500 and previews of the men's race the following day.


The Little 500 was first introduced into the national scope with the 1979 movie "Breaking Away", which amassed five Academy Award nominations, a Golden Globe and an Oscar for best screenplay. Bolstered by the movie's success, the Little 500 went on to be covered by CBS, ESPN, Fox Sports and the Outdoor Life Channel in following years.
 
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top