AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I own a HK avr635, and a Samsung HL-s71... My signal is coming from a Motorola Digital cable box.

The HK doesn't have HDMI inputs so I figured I'd just run the cable to the TV via HDMI, and use the TV's optical audio out (no digital coax out) to the HK. The HK is properly configured in the input/output and I am receiving sound, but stereo only. No DTS. The HK recognizes a PCM at 46k coming in, but I can't get the 5.1 as is indicated comes with the HD (some) channels.

Now, my DTS is fine with my DVD player (connected via coax) but for some reason, it's no-go on the DTS from the TV.

Admittedly I haven't tried going from the box to the HK yet, but I'm going to go try that now.. (just the audio) to see if the TV is f'ing things up.

If I'm heading in the wrong direction, any advice would be appreciated.

~Raine

(Yeah im a newb here, first post...)

·
Read the FAQ!
36,426 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by rainemaker /forum/post/0

I own a HK avr635, and a Samsung HL-s71... My signal is coming from a Motorola Digital cable box.

The HK doesn't have HDMI inputs so I figured I'd just run the cable to the TV via HDMI, and use the TV's optical audio out (no digital coax out) to the HK. The HK is properly configured in the input/output and I am receiving sound, but stereo only. No DTS. The HK recognizes a PCM at 46k coming in, but I can't get the 5.1 as is indicated comes with the HD (some) channels.

Now, my DTS is fine with my DVD player (connected via coax) but for some reason, it's no-go on the DTS from the TV.

Admittedly I haven't tried going from the box to the HK yet, but I'm going to go try that now.. (just the audio) to see if the TV is f'ing things up.

If I'm heading in the wrong direction, any advice would be appreciated.

~Raine

(Yeah im a newb here, first post...)