Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings HDTV viewers,

I'm a journalist for a national newspaper working on a story about how Hollywood's production community is doing on the learning curve as they shoot/convert programming in HDTV. I'm looking for people who have seen interesting instances in HDTV programming where the visuals may have been a bit too clear--an actor's pimples, wrinkles, plastic-surgery scars, a transparently fake prop, a shoddy-looking set--whether on TV series, movies, sports, news, etc.

If you saw something interesting, email AW at [email protected]

Thanks!

·
Banned
3,539 Posts
Read some of the older posts where it is found that on CSI the older actors and actresses get "digital touchups" on their face to keep them from looking older with HDTV.

·
Registered
305 Posts
I remember the first HDTV SuperBowl game, most of my guests were just so thrilled that they can spot stuff like beads of sweat, blades of grass, dirt on players faces, holes in uniforms and other oddities.

·
Registered
305 Posts
Oh, I just remembered one episode of CSI where I believe a body part on the coroner's table got through on the HD version of the broadcast.

Unfortunately I can't remember which episode it was.

·
Registered
14,446 Posts
I know this isn't current, but it would do producers well to check things like this out for future reference.

HDNet has bought a HD remastered collection of Hogan's Hero's and you can see the "snow" on the watch towers are a nice white paint or the snow on the ground is a nice Styrofoam or packing peanut type material and Burkhalter's scar has a nice plastic sheen around it denoting it is a plastic stick on!