AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just received my 503cmx from Dell and got it hooked up to my Time Warner HDTV cable box. I have it attached to there component cables to bnc adapters to the RGB on input 2. The HD stations look very good, but the regular channels have the wrong aspect ratio and they are not showing full screen, most have black or grey edges around the corners. I looked at the settings for input 2 and do not see anything to change. I am having to use input 3 via the s video connection to get full screen on the standard cable channels. I am pretty sure this is something pretty simple that I have missed. I am new to this. Thanks for all the help.

·
Registered
282 Posts
I have mine wired the same as yours. HDTV is great but SDTV is not so hot blown up on a 50 inch screen. DVD's are very good though. I had mine calibrated by an ISF professional. He didn't think the connections were wrong, just typical performance for SDTV.

·
Registered
2,814 Posts
brevardbound:

This question has been asked hundreds of times in one form or another. Do some reading in the HDTV forum.

Hint: to get the proper aspect ratio, don't watch up converted 1080i from your STB, otherwise, you can't zoom 4:3 material. Connect the STB's S-Video to input 3 on the 503 and you'll be able to zoom. You may also get a better picture.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I guess what I am trying to say is do I have to switch to input 3 to see standard cable feeds in full screen mode. When I view them on iput 1 which is my HDTV output I get black or grey around the picture and the screen is not full. HDTV channels look fine on input 1 but standard cable channels don't.

·
Registered
2,814 Posts
brevardbound: