AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, I'm new to the HDTV thing and I'm curious what type of HDTV OTA antenna I should purchase. Using antennweb.com I'm approximately 24 miles from the towers. My goal is to pick up ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, WB, and UPN out of Philadelphia. I live in Medford, New Jersey very close to where Route 70 and Route 541 meet. I've read many threads on OTA antennas and I'm very confused.

Here's my setup: 50-Inch Sony GWIII with Hughes DIRECTV HD box.

I prefer to install the antenna in the attic or if possible just use an indoor antenna. Anyone in the area have any luck with the Silver Sensor in my area?

Any information anyone can provide would be of great help! This site has really been helpful with my HDTV needs. Thanks for your replies in advance!:D

·
Registered
3,086 Posts
At 24 miles, and with some of the stations being at low power, you're probably pushing the capabilities of the Silver Sensor. A Channel Master 3021 would probably work fine for you in the attic, though if you want a slam dunk sure thing, the only way to go is a 4228 on the roof.

Most people seem to have a "what's the minimum I can get away with" mentality when picking an antenna. Be prepared for trial and error with that approach.

It probably wouldn't hurt to buy the Silver Sensor from a place with a good return policy.

Be sure to check out the Philadelphia-specific thread, as each station's specifics for power and range would be discussed throughly there.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Could I install the 4228 in the attic? My wife and I really don't want to put something on our roof, plus it's almost impossible to get up there due to it being very steep!

·
Registered
23,234 Posts
I'm a little closer than you. I tried a few indoor unsuccessfully.

I use this in my attic:
http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...5Fid=15%2D2160

Very stable...